Sweet Green Bean Bundles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2013
This is a family favorite and is quite versatile and forgiving. I prefer fresh green beans, cook time is the same. Sometimes I add loose brussle sprouts cut up in the free space of the pan. Sliced Cabbage works well with this recipe too. (only way my kids will eat cabbage) It works well as a base for a variety of veggies but I do cut back on the sugar and butter. I use about 1/2 to 3/4 cup brown sugar NOT packed, and about half the butter. I have on occasion omitted the butter and I don't taste a huge difference. (use water in place of butter otherwise the sugar crunches up) We also love to add crushed nuts sprinkled on top when we have them on hand. (Walnut, pecan, pistachio, and almond are our favs) I like to pull off the foil in the last 10 min to make the bacon crisp up, but I pour off the "fat and juice" into a container so it does not evaporate off. Reason being, it will keep in the fridge for about a week and a half and freezes well, and next time you go to make this recipe you do not need to add the butter or sugar again...just bacon wrap your veggies and pour the saved mixture over it and your done. When I reuse the juice like that, I save it 1 more time and dump it in my broth when I make ham and bean soup...yummm! Bonus, no waste. If your concerned about heart health, read and learn to make bacon from pork belly. It is far healthier than store bought which is why farmers who ate their own bacon and eggs often, did not die early of heart disease or cancer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
Delicious! Followed recipe to a T.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2013
have made this three times,three different dinner parties, Everyone loved it!! I used frozen beans each time and turned out perfect!! Thanks for such a great and easy dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2013
Made this for a Valentine Dinner at church and it was the hit of the party! Not a fan of green beans but even I liked it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2012
Awesome!! prob the only way I will ever eat green beans again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2012
These were amazing! At Christmas dinner, the whole extended family declared these to be the only green beans to serve on future special occasions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2012
Made these last nice. Delicious! And really quite easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nikkie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2012
BIG suggestion: The secret to these bundles is the TIME ALLOWED FOR MARINATING - the longer the better! Also, the recipe I use calls for 1/2 teaspoon of soy sauce, it makes all the difference in the world. Sort of balances the brown sugar. My in-laws insist on these bundles at every holiday or gathering - even the green bean haters love these. I start marinating them in ziploc bags AT LEAST one day in advance. Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mis7up
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2012
While excited about this recipe but still on the fence...I went forth. 2 of my children liked this, my son didn't, my husband said the bacon was good but the green beans were off putting. I had to agree as well. The sweetness added to the beans was totally wrong for us. Sugared green beans just wasn't right. Won't be making this recipe, believe it should be savory....not sweet. Sorry, won't be making these again. NOT with brown sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mis7up

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burkburnett, Texas, USA
Living In: Cave Junction, Oregon, USA
Photo by genechristopher
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
I skipped the foil and steamed the beans for about 6 minutes first. PERFECT side dish...!! After about 30 minutes on 350, I finished on broil for about 8 minutes to crisp the bacon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by genechristopher

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salem, Ohio, USA
Living In: Norfolk, Virginia, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 311) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Green Bean Casserole

See how to make classic French onion and green bean casserole.

Grandma's Green Bean Casserole

See how to make creamy, delicious green bean casserole with a crunchy top.

Best Green Bean Casserole

A shortcut recipe for green bean casserole you'll want to have.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States