Sweet Green Bean Bundles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2012
Made these last nice. Delicious! And really quite easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nikkie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2012
BIG suggestion: The secret to these bundles is the TIME ALLOWED FOR MARINATING - the longer the better! Also, the recipe I use calls for 1/2 teaspoon of soy sauce, it makes all the difference in the world. Sort of balances the brown sugar. My in-laws insist on these bundles at every holiday or gathering - even the green bean haters love these. I start marinating them in ziploc bags AT LEAST one day in advance. Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mis7up
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2012
While excited about this recipe but still on the fence...I went forth. 2 of my children liked this, my son didn't, my husband said the bacon was good but the green beans were off putting. I had to agree as well. The sweetness added to the beans was totally wrong for us. Sugared green beans just wasn't right. Won't be making this recipe, believe it should be savory....not sweet. Sorry, won't be making these again. NOT with brown sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mis7up

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burkburnett, Texas, USA
Living In: Cave Junction, Oregon, USA
Photo by genechristopher
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
I skipped the foil and steamed the beans for about 6 minutes first. PERFECT side dish...!! After about 30 minutes on 350, I finished on broil for about 8 minutes to crisp the bacon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by genechristopher

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salem, Ohio, USA
Living In: Norfolk, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
Did not taste like green beans. They were very sweet. Too much brown sugar though. Looked very nice and were good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Foxy Lady

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Duluth, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Eleva, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2012
Make it every year! A Thanksgiving tradition at our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROCKYALLOVERAGAIN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lodi, Missouri, USA
Living In: Blytheville, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2012
I cannot express how much our family enjoyed these with words....but I will try. I was looking for a special veggie to go with my daughter's 16th birthday party dinner, which was a mystery murder meal. I wanted it to be a bit fancy looking, so their plates looked pretty. I bought steamer bags of green beans and steamed them about 3/4 of the way, let them cool and wrapped them in large clumps with a full slice of the Hormel fully cooked bacon. (I had to soften the bacon a few seconds in the microwave.) I didn't change the rest of the recipe, but the changes I made made it so much easier and the bacon was cooked. I had one vegetarian and I just left a pile in the corner for her without bacon. The 16 teens DEVOURED them. It was a nice looking dish of veggies. I do like to impress with food, and this one was impressive. However, I will make these alot...and I will probably just cut the Hormel bacon into bite size pieces and stir it up in the dish. We like good food, so the fancy part isn't always necessary for a fabulous, fast side dish. I also made these a day ahead so all I had to do was put them in the oven the day of the party. Thank you for a great recipe!! Yes, I made a few changes to ease my cooking process, but the recipe is still yours!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
so yummy! very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by katiekay79
Home Town: Edmonds, Washington, USA
Living In: Lynnwood, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2012
Like others I used fresh green beans since they were readily available at the local farmer's market. I parboiled them first and followed the recipe. It added a nice touch to an ordinary Sunday dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2012
Very good with fresh green beans blanched. Cut them up and just spread everything on top instead of wrapping to speed it up. Worked great. Only problem was I didn't make enough!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 305) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Green Bean Casserole

See how to make classic French onion and green bean casserole.

Grandma's Green Bean Casserole

See how to make creamy, delicious green bean casserole with a crunchy top.

Green Bean Almondine with Garlic & Blue Cheese

Trick out your green bean side dish with roasted garlic & tangy blue cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States