Sweet Green Bean Bundles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2008
I didn't use all the green beans or bacon. I also took the foil off and turned the bundles then put them back in for about a minute and a half. This is a favorite recipe of mine now. I have cooked it at least 3 times in the last 2 weeks. The best!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Plastic Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Katy, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2008
Yummy. I didn't have time to bundle so I put everything in a dish and baked with cut up bacon on top. Used turkey bacon and fake brown sugar (1 cup of Splenda and 1/4 cup sugar free maple syrup). Even my 4 year old wanted seconds. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2008
Great recipe! Only change I made was to use fresh green beans. Everybody loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Kenmore, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2008
These green beans were easy to make and tasted great. Following the advice of other reviewers, on the morning of my dinner party I blanched the beans and slightly cooked the bacon before assembling the bundles. I did use about 10 beans per bundle. Closer to serving time I prepared the sauce and baked for 45 minutes. Next time, I will also make the sauce in advance and cook the bacon a little longer. It was not very crisp and half of my guests left it behind on their plates. Everyone raved about the flavor and presentation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2007
I always make these ahead of time, then warm them in the microwave to crisp the bacon. I also add a little black pepper to the sauce. You can also try using maple flavored bacon. My family begs for these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2007
This has completely replaced my standard Green Bean Casserole for Christmas dinner! It is soooooo good. I didn't use the butter in the recipe and it was flavorful enough. Since bacon is usually salty enough, I used garlic powder instead of salt. You could probably use about 10 beans per 1/2 strip of bacon & pushed a toothpick through to hold the bundle together! VERY YUMMY! 10 stars if I could!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2007
This is a great recipe for family gatherings, potluck dinners & everyday dinners also. Never misses!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2007
This recipe was awesome, and a winner with my family this Thanksgiving. I used fresh green beans. I parboiled them for 5-8 minutes in salted water. I also added a few drops of soy sauce to the other ingredients. After mixing the other ingredients I poured over the beans, and then marinated them overnight. The next day I took my bacon and pre-cooked it for about 1 minute in the microwave, and then wrapped 1/2 slice of bacon around the beans in bundles of 5-6 beans - closed with a toothpick, and lastly I baked them. They were awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2007
These tasted great and are great to serve for company. The only problem is that I found 3 cans of green beans to be too much - 2 cans would be enough. I find these turn out best if you wrap the beans in bacon and then bake them (WITHOUT the brown sugar and butter) about 20-25 minutes. I then take them out of the oven, dump the grease, then top with brown sugar and butter and continue to bake another 20-25 minutes. This will significantly cut down on the amount of grease "floating" on top when you take them out of the oven. I also prefer to cut back on the butter just a tad otherwise it can be an overwhelming amount of fat/grease. Oh yeah, and you definitely do NOT need to grease the pan first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rosebud, Texas, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2007
Love it! I did as other reviewers suggested and rather than spending time wrapping the green beans, I just dumped the beans, precooked bacon (from the package) and the sauce into the pan. Didn't have quite the same presentation value, but tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DawnG

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bristol, Virginia, USA
Living In: Southlake, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 304) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Green Bean Casserole

See how to make classic French onion and green bean casserole.

Grandma's Green Bean Casserole

See how to make creamy, delicious green bean casserole with a crunchy top.

Green Bean Almondine with Garlic & Blue Cheese

Trick out your green bean side dish with roasted garlic & tangy blue cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States