Sweet Green Bean Bundles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2014
This was easy enough to make and of course everything is better with bacon. Beware the amount of fat that is rendered from the raw bacon. When you remove the liquid, you also remove the sweetness of the butter and brown sugar. 2nd time around, I cooked the bundles for 1/2 the time, poured off the fat, THEN added the butter/sugar mixture on top and cooked the remainder of time. Much better result!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2014
The flavors are a great combination, I made this a little more healthy by using a half strip of bacon around 7 raw haricot vert, and cut in half the amounts of butter, brown sugar and garlic salt and still thought it was good and flavorful. The bundles are beautiful, except I have a huge problem with wanting to eat bacon which is not crisp, which is what this method yields. Uncovered and running them under the broiler did crisp the bacon, but shriveled the beans. Is there anyone who uncovered the the last 10 minutes in regular oven heat AND used fresh beans AND got NICE looking beans and CRISP bacon? Will love you forever if you know how!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by stephie
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2014
Made this as a side dish for Thanksgiving. It was absolutely delicious and so easy to make. To save time I steamed fresh green beans the night before and wrapped the bacon around the bundles and stuck the toothpicks in. The next day I made the melted butter and brown sugar drizzle and topped it off with a little garlic powder. It got rave reviews and even my dauhter, who is not a lover of green beans, gobbled them up. Cant wait to make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2014
Delicious!! I do not like green beans but these are so good it's like green bean candy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2014
Really tasty I put bit of honey on mine turned out lovely
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by dbogler
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2014
I added red bell peppers and cooked on the grill in foil. It really added to the tenderness of the fresh green beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2014
Ok I will admit...I used fresh asparagus instead of canned beans and omitted the garlic salt but I wowed my boyfreind!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2014
These were pretty good but a bit overly sweet and greasy. Not sure if the extra calories are worth it without the equivelent increase in palet pleasure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
We LOVED these! The only change I made was I used fresh green beans instead of canned. The family raved about these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2014
I followed this recipe as noted. It was fantastic my husband and daughter loved it,they even asked for seconds and they hate veggies....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 310) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Green Bean Casserole

See how to make classic French onion and green bean casserole.

Grandma's Green Bean Casserole

See how to make creamy, delicious green bean casserole with a crunchy top.

Green Bean Almondine with Garlic & Blue Cheese

Trick out your green bean side dish with roasted garlic & tangy blue cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States