Supreme Strawberry Topping Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: May 19, 2012
A little too sweet and thick. I felt like I was eating spoonfuls of sugar. It was still pretty good though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2012
I haven't seen a "pint" of strawberries forever, so I used a 1-pound package. If you're using berries out of your garden, these were my equivalents: 1 pound of berries yielded 1 1/2 cups of coarsely sliced berries that I simmered with the sugar and vanilla, AND 1 cup of diced strawberries that I stirred in after I blended the cooked mixture with a stick blender. This was delicious--it wasn't too sweet and didn't need artificial red food color added. I multiplied the batch for use on ice cream sundaes for teacher appreciation week, and it was a bigger hit than the squeeze chocolate topping. I can't wait to try it on waffles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2012
yum. cut all of them in pieces and boiled for a while. took about 1/3 out and put it in magic bullet. mixed all together. yummy yummy to my tummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HESANTONE

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Northville, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2012
Excellent! Tried it as suggested, but found it worked best for me using a 16 oz frozen package of strawberries, 1/2 c. sugar and 1 1/2 tsp vanilla. I like a translucent strawberry glaze and found that pureeing the strawberries made the topping more like jam. After it cooked, I strained the leftover strawberries out which left me with a perfect strawberry topping! Love it, will make again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2012
Oh my...I didn't expect something so simple to taste so good! The directions were not clear--but I had faith that the reviewers would clarify, and they did! (Reserve 1/3 cup of the strawberries for the end, using the rest to make the sauce.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim Palmer Clements

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2012
Used less vanilla, only a couple of drops and this went great on top of my strawberry poke cake, between the cake and whipped topping! Super easy to do and the results are amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MA McBridges

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Humble, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2012
I'm going to use this recipe in a frozen strawberry lemonade recipe very very soon!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by slowcookerdiva

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2012
Someone from Allrecipes should have edited this recipe for clarity before approving it for the website, hence the 4 stars. I made it the way I thought it should be done, using the recipes ingredients as written, and found it to be exactly what I was looking for to top my angel food cake. I had frozen a pint of fresh strawberries I bought on sale and so I used those. The sugar to strawberry ratio was perfect for my taste and the vanilla was a nice touch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ronalyn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Katy, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2012
Perfect strawberry sauce for anything. I used it for cheesecake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2012
I wanted a topping for a pound cake and I used brown sugar instead of white. The vanilla adds the right amount of flavor and surprisingly, this wasn't excessively sweet. Very nice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 543) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Fresh Strawberry Sauce

See how to make a simple strawberry sauce for cheesecakes.

Rhubarb and Strawberry Pie

See how to make a wonderfully sweet and tart fruit pie.

B and L's Strawberry Smoothie

Fresh berries, skim milk, plain yogurt, and vanilla make a 5-star smoothie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States