Sugar Cookie Icing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2013
I don't understand how this recipe got so many good reviews. The proportions are way off, you need almost double the milk to make it spreadable. It taste like pure powdered sugar, way too sweet. It does look pretty after you tweak it to get it spreadable but it does not taste good at all. I just ruined half a batch of cut out cookies that I spent a couple hours baking. Also, if you try to stack them, the icing melts and they all stick together even if you put waxed paper between them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Loveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2013
Best sugar cookie recipe I have ever find. I was a bit concerned after I mixed things up and it was pretty thick. The reviews saved me: add more milk. Not a lot, but maybe another 1/2 - 1 teaspoon. This recipe makes for a VERY pretty cookie. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2013
The icing complements sugar cookies perfectly. They were a hit at home and with friends and co-workers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2013
This recipe makes a nice thin icing to decorate an entire cookie, make it thicker for piping. It dries quickly so you have to be ready for other decor or have some help before they dry. Easy to flavor and color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2013
Use this with the Best Rolled Sugar Cookie recipe. People cant believe they arent from a bakery, its that good! The icing hardens but is still tasty and your able to pack them up with no smudges. Thanks for sharing :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wrenabee
Home Town: Lynnwood, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2013
I feel like im rating this recipe higher then it really should be! The proportions are way off! There is no way as recipe is written this icing is spreadable I had to add alot more milk! my cookies turned out nice but only because of my adjustments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missrochester

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2013
It tastes great, but the measurements are way off. 2 teaspoons of milk to 1 cup of powdered sugar? Wow. That's not even enough to get the sugar wet. I had to add a lot more milk, and it was still very thick and hard to work with. It was my first time making icing, so I had no feel for how thick it was supposed to be, so for the recipe to be so far off on the measurements was frustrating and unhelpful. But I eventually figured it out, and it does taste good and looks good on the cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2013
Looks beautiful and is super easy. One word of warning, do not freeze this icing. The colors dulled and turned blotchy. Just let the icing dry then store cookies in an airtight container.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2013
I've been searching for a recipe like this!! Love the sheen it puts on the cookies. I didn't have time to do another layer this time around but will "budget" my time the next go round so I can play a bit more to see what results I can get by adding more dimension to the decorating process. I did mess up by adding all ingredients at once but added a bit more milk to enable thorough mixing. Turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chesaning, Michigan, USA
Living In: Owosso, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2013
This icing is delicious and easy to work with. My 2-5 year old grandkids used paint brushes to paint it on the cookies. The toppings stick great and as it states it dries perfectly so cookies can be stacked!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mundelein, Illinois, USA
Living In: New Port Richey, Florida, USA

Displaying results 71-80 (of 2,269) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Sugar Cookie Frosting

See a fail-proof method for making perfect frosting.

Sugar Cookie Icing

See how to make this top-rated icing recipe for sugar cookies.

How to Make Cookie Icing

Decorate cookies with your own homemade icing in three fast, easy steps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States