Sugar Cookie Icing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2014
I absolutely loved it! As is, this recipe made a lightly flavored sweet icing that was perfect for spreading. I also made a 2nd batch for more of a glaze or drizzle using : 1 1/2 cups confectioners sugar, 2 TBSP milk, 2 TBSP light corn syrup, 1 tsp pure lemon extract, 13 drops yellow food coloring and a dash of salt. Thanks for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Santa Maria, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2014
I made three batches today for Valentine Day cookies and with each batch I learned a new tip. The number one tip that made a huge difference is to be absolutely sure you use a deep narrow bowl if possible. This makes it so much easier for the thick mixture to blend. I also used 3 tsp milk and 3 tsp corn syrup, but like others say, it depends on your preference. And lastly, I made the mistake of leaving the powder sugar and milk sit for over an hour without stirring...big mistake. I think you need to work it immediately or you'll be working with rocks, like I was. Nice consistently and it spreads beautifully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2014
This recipe is awesome! I made and used as written and it is fabulous! I will try these with lemon extract or vanilla for a different flavor :) Thank you for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Terrace, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2014
Excellent icing! First time I tried it and great to work with. Used water and sugar syrup instead of corn syrup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
A very sweet icing but it has a lovely finish. As others have said, you have to adjust the milk and corn syrup to get the right thickness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Alethea
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
I first started making this icing as written and it was way too thick. I had to add additional milk and corn syrup...... the initial measurements are way off.......
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Windsor Mill, Maryland, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2014
Loved the icing. Confused with those who said adjustments were off, recipe incomplete , if you watched the video it says to add more corn syrup or milk little by little to the consistency you desire, thick or thin.. The instructions are there., the video gives you an idea of how thick the icing is, but at some point it's up to you as the baker to decide how thick you want the icing to be. When I get a recipe for a frosting to frost a cake, it doesn't say how thick to frost my cake or cupcakes, the decision is mine. I don't care for almond flavoring, so I used vanilla, taste is an individual thing. Shouldn't be a bad review if instructions were not completely reviewed. Thank you for the honey and lemon suggestions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
I didn't have corn syrup, so used honey, and got rave reviews! People couldn't stop eating these cookies! Love this icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2014
It is like food from heaven
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2014
I followed recipe exactly and I did not care for the taste of this AT ALL!! I thought with all the reviews it would be really good however, it was inedible. It taste like pure powdered sugar. I think maybe the reason it has high reviews is because of the way it absorbs the food coloring and how it looks aesthetically. To me however, i think the taste is more important then look. Some people also critiqued that it was hard to spread and wouldn't become smooth. That happened to me the first time i made the icing, because I added all the ingredients together INSTEAD of following the directions and stirring the sugar with the milk BEFORE you put the other ingredients in. That made all the difference in making a smooth icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 2,278) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Sugar Cookie Frosting

See a fail-proof method for making perfect frosting.

Sugar Cookie Icing

See how to make this top-rated icing recipe for sugar cookies.

How to Make Cookie Icing

Decorate cookies with your own homemade icing in three fast, easy steps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States