Sugar Cookie Icing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2013
This icing is delicious and easy to work with. My 2-5 year old grandkids used paint brushes to paint it on the cookies. The toppings stick great and as it states it dries perfectly so cookies can be stacked!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debby Dradi Malloy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mundelein, Illinois, USA
Living In: New Port Richey, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2013
The amount of milk and corn syrup the recipe says you need makes a thick unspreadable paste. Not something you can ice cookies with. Had to add double what the recipe called for just to make it smooth and easily drizzled or spreadable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2013
I tried this recipe last night on some Christmas Tree sugar cookies. I was skeptical about all the rave reviews (could my cookies realy look like store bought?). But, to my surprise, they are BEAUTIFUL. I doubled the recipe as I had TONs to frost. One note, if the frosting is getting dry while working with it, you can add a few drops of Corn Syrup and it's like new. I love this recipe. I do agree that the tast is not quite as good as my "butter" icing recipe. I'll work on that next....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Annajplummer

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2013
This is really easy and good. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Jo Rivet

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2013
This is perfect for topping my MIL's famous sugar cookies! I used 2 T. of milk and substituted vanilla for the almond flavoring.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by enlightenedfood
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2013
I like this recipe, and so does my family. As many times as I've made it, I've never been able to get it to the correct consistency until about 4 teaspoons of milk. I used 1/2 teaspoon of clear vanilla extract and piped using a disposable piping bag with no tip (just snip the end) I would recommend this method of application for both piping details and covering the whole cookie(just snip a little larger opening if covering the whole cookie). Turned out great :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by enlightenedfood

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
This is my 3rd year using this recipe!!! I love, love, love it. 1/2 of my cookies leave my house, and this icing just makes it so much easier for family to take home their treasures after an afternoon of decorating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie Barrett

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
Due to a milk allergy and not having corn syrup on hand, I had to adapt this recipe and used coconut milk and I made a simple sugar syrup. Usually I don't have a problem substituting plain coconut milk for milk but it didn't have enough liquid and it's still dry icing sugar and didn't resemble anything like icing. I had to add another 3tsp of coconut milk and 1 tsp of sugar syrup to get the constancy needed. In the end it was great and something I'll use for future sugar cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
This was visually a beautiful icing. Colored with gel colors. The icing set up beautifully in a short time and made the cookies stackable. However, it is not tasty. Very artificial tasting probably because of the corn syrup. I tried it with the almond extract and substituting fresh lemon juice. You also need to add quite a bit more milk to get a spreadable consistency. You can mix it in a stand mixer which was helpful time wise. I will continue to search for a good icing recipe so the cookies will taste as good as they look.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
Just found this recipe the other day and decided to try it on my Christmas sugar cookies. It is so easy to make and my cookies came out beautiful. I did have to add more corn syrup as stated in the directions. I was able to pipe the icing on and use a brush without any problems. The icing dries nicely so that I could store them easily all together in one container. I decided to use vanilla in place of the almond flavor and it turned out great. I will have to experiment with other flavors next time I make it. Thanks so much for sharing such a wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Weaubleau, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 2,314) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sugar Cookie Frosting

See a fail-proof method for making perfect frosting.

Sugar Cookie Icing

See how to make this top-rated icing recipe for sugar cookies.

How to Make Cookie Icing

Decorate cookies with your own homemade icing in three fast, easy steps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States