Sugar Cookie Icing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2014
I followed recipe exactly and I did not care for the taste of this AT ALL!! I thought with all the reviews it would be really good however, it was inedible. It taste like pure powdered sugar. I think maybe the reason it has high reviews is because of the way it absorbs the food coloring and how it looks aesthetically. To me however, i think the taste is more important then look. Some people also critiqued that it was hard to spread and wouldn't become smooth. That happened to me the first time i made the icing, because I added all the ingredients together INSTEAD of following the directions and stirring the sugar with the milk BEFORE you put the other ingredients in. That made all the difference in making a smooth icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2014
Fantastic! Never going back to the stuff I used to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
Thank you for this wonderful yet super easy to make recipe. I must strongly agree that this is THE HOLY GRAIL of all the icing recipe. THANK YOU!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by clareg27

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
Turned out great! Used vanilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
Other then the almond flavoring ( I used vanilla with half and lemon with the other half) This is a perfect icing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MaryAnn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Red Bank, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
Excellent. Needs a little more milk/corn syrup for smooth texture
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Medina, New York, USA
Living In: Vernon, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2013
Great recipe - the dough was too sticky for me, but I threw in an extra 30 minutes in the freezer and it worked well. I did use flour to dust the surface and covert the roller pin to avoid breaking the dough. I like the cookies crispy - at 1/4 in they're crispier, and at 1/2 they may become doughy-cake texture
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2013
My 14-year-old granddaughter and I used this to glaze a batch of sugar cookies. We split it into four bowls and added a few drops of grocery store food color to each bowl and it worked perfectly, I found 2 tsp. of milk to be far too little to get this to a spreadable consistency, but I kept adding and stirring a little at a time until I got it the way I wanted. We used small craft brushes and painted it on. It went on smoothly and dried hard. My granddaughter, who is a very picky eater, LOVED the flavor. A big win all the way around. Thanks for the excellent recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Slidell, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2013
This is my go-to icing! I use vanilla instead of almond because it's what I have on hand. I do double or triple the batch each time I make it so I have plenty to dye.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Watertown, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2013
Our favorite!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 2,269) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Sugar Cookie Frosting

See a fail-proof method for making perfect frosting.

Sugar Cookie Icing

See how to make this top-rated icing recipe for sugar cookies.

How to Make Cookie Icing

Decorate cookies with your own homemade icing in three fast, easy steps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States