Sugar Cookie Icing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2013
There was no way that 2tsp of milk was doing what it needed to do in the powdered sugar. Using only 2 left me with clumpy powdered sugar. I didn't get anything smooth unless I used 4tsp. I misread and used 2tbsp of corn syrup instead of 2 tsp, but it turned out that I needed that much anyway, and the 1/4 extract was an accurate amount (I used vanilla). Once I got my second batch to a decent consistency for dipping the cookies, I could start to see the appeal of the frosting, but I was so frustrated at that point that it was hard to see the positives. I'm just hoping my cookies dry looking better than they do now, and hoping that the nice packaging I have will distract from the icing job. I used this for my daughter's 1st birthday cookies and I'm almost too embarrassed to use them (but I still will because I don't have anything else). It's upsetting that something I was so happy about came out so terribly. I MIGHT try this icing again with a less-pressure occasion, but it was still a disappointing first experience.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2013
I liked it. It was fun to work with and painted on nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LAURASC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by eve
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2013
This is so easy to work with. I did add more corn syrup; you need to play around with it until you get the right consistency. This icing flattens out to get a nice smooth surface and hardened quickly to do another layer with a different color, or you can add in another color while it is still wet and it will sink in. Make sure you actually let it dry over night before stacking or putting in bags though, because even if it feels dry it will smudge. It hardened great because it doesn't smudge, but it still tastes creamy and smooth when you bite into it. Don't be alarmed if when you taste the icing before you frost your cookies, it doesn't taste very good...Once it is completely hardened and iced onto the sugar cookies, it tastes wonderful--not to sweet, and it's a great addition to sugar cookies. I used them on the Soft Christmas Cookies Recipe on this site. They were gone in one day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Maria
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2013
Delicious! It was so easy to make. I made them for Valentines Day. I didn't have any almond extract, so I used vanilla flavoring instead, and the cookies came out so good! Next time I will definitely use almond extract.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maria

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stockholm, Stockholms, Sweden
Living In: Reno, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2013
Perfect! It came out just how I wanted it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2013
This icing was great! I had to adjust the recipe by adding a little more milk, but overall my family loved them! The icing was glossy and stayed firm which gave the cookies a neat appearance. I am definintely saving this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lisa
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2013
I used vanilla, great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Campbell, California, USA
Living In: Navarre, Florida, USA
Photo by PrincessM7
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2013
Fabulous! I second that this is the "Holy Grail of icing." You will have to add more milk, but do so at the end. Add a little at a time until you get the desired consistency. I didn't have corn syrup so I made simple syrup (1/2 cup sugar, 1/8 cup water will make enough for 2 teaspoons). This will probably also be great with vanilla extract. I am going to try it with lemon extract and yellow food coloring on shortbread cookies. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2013
This was my first experience with icing sugar cookies :) The recipe was very easy to make, and tasted good. It was a little hard to apply to the cookies (I didn't have a new, clean paint brush, so I used my pastry brush.) It did harden nicely, and I was able to stack my cookies. However, I think my house may have been too cold, because the glaze got some kind of white spots on some of them. I used vanilla extract instead of almond, lemon would be good, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sheffield, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2013
very easy to use
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 2,252) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Sugar Cookie Frosting

See a fail-proof method for making perfect frosting.

Sugar Cookie Icing

See how to make this top-rated icing recipe for sugar cookies.

How to Make Cookie Icing

Decorate cookies with your own homemade icing in three fast, easy steps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States