Sugar Cookie Icing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2015
Loved this recipe. So easy to make and work with. My 5 year had no problem icing his cookies he made. Almond extract really adds to the overall flavor to bring the cookie to the next level. Definitely using this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2015
first of all, one batch does NOT cover a dozen cookies. i quadrupled the recipe and it barely did 20 of them, and that was after thinning the icing. which brings me to my next point. when i make it following the directions exactly, no matter if it is a single batch or enough for 100 cookies, it starts out as a ball, like it looks like a ball of cookie dough, and i have to keep adding more mild and syrup until it gets thin enough to make a solid covering with. it does dry beautifully (if you are only using a single color anyways. more than one color and you have to wait hours if you dont want them to bleed) and that is the only reason i keep coming back to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2015
This icing reminds me of a cookie bakery called "Eileen's." Very popular with all children and adults. It is really really rich and very sweet. One will conquer any sweet tooth. My 10 yo couldn't eat them!! Great for Birthday parties! I used them with the cracked sugar cookie recipe. If you r looking for something sweet, this does the trick, but if you r looking for something more old fashioned, then not. Very good. The only changes I made with the second batch was not adding the original amount of icing, just a thin layer. Thanks for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2015
I used Coconut Dream instead of milk and it turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alyssa Masor

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2015
Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jackie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2015
Absolutely FABULOUS! Great texture and flavour. The family LOVED it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheRebel

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marshall, Michigan, USA
Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2015
Easy, and shiny, hard finish without using egg whites or other fussy ingredients. I used golden corn syrup, since I was adding colours anyway, and it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2015
I like the recipe but if I decorate my cookies too far in advance, the icing dries out too much and it discolors. If not for that, I'd give it 5 stars. Anyone else have this issue? I make the recipe as written but using vanilla extract. I don't like almond.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2015
Added a little more milk for a more runny consistency so my two year old could easily paint the cookies. We had fun!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2015
My go to cookie decorating icing. Dries hard but soft when eaten.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ginab999

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 2,358) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sugar Cookie Frosting

See a fail-proof method for making perfect frosting.

Sugar Cookie Icing

See how to make this top-rated icing recipe for sugar cookies.

How to Make Cookie Icing

Decorate cookies with your own homemade icing in three fast, easy steps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States