Stuffed Pattypan Squash Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2014
This recipe was the basis for a wonderful dinner for my husband and me. I had a large (6") patty pan from my garden. Rather than boil it, hubby sliced it into two rounds, and used an ice cream scoop to remove the seeds and most of the flesh so about 1/2" was left as a bowl. I chopped the removed squash and set it aside. Then I heated a Tbsp of olive oil in a skillet, added some Kirkland bacon bits, a small chopped red onion and a minced garlic clove. When the onion was transparent, I added the chopped squash and sauteed a bit longer. I mixed in Panko bread crumbs (instead of fresh), some basil, 1/2 cup chicken broth, and 1/2 cup shredded Mozzarella. I put the squash halves in a baking dish sprayed with non-stick spray, added the stuffing, and sprinkled a bit more cheese on top. Covered with foil, and baked at 350 for about 45 minutes, until the squash was tender when pierced with a fork. Meanwhile, I heated about 1 cup of Stephanie's Freezer Spaghetti Sauce from this site, which I spooned over the baked stuffed squash. Served with fresh corn on the cob. Amazing Dinner!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Oregon Snowbird

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroe, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2014
The recipe looks and sounds really delicious. I had a number of squash in different sizes from the garden. Once they were fork tender, all went downhill fast. If I do this again, I think an ice bath would work great to cool off the squash. The squash were too soft & too hot to handle. I had many seeds, that I was trying to pull out of them, as the flesh was disappearing. The squash ultimately fell apart and were a big mess. I had bacon cooked & onion in the skillet, so I turned this mess into a pasta dinner. I added back to the pan what I salvaged, some white wine, chicken stock, parsley, and garlic. It was edible. My husband said it wasn't the best thing I ever made, but it was good. I like the idea of the horizontal slice, and may try that next time. I also think I will under cook the squash, so it is not as soft. This may be operator error, but the seeds were not addressed in the original recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Santa Clara, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2014
This recipe appeared to have potential. However when I made it, the stuffing turned out very dry and the squash was al dente. I wish I had taken the advice of other reviewers and added liquid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2014
I love this recipe - it's one of my summer staples once the squash plants in the garden take off. I did notice that as written, the stuffing is very dry, so before stuffing the squash I add about a cup of chicken broth. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sandy, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2014
So tasty! I only made one small change. I added shredded mixed cheese to mixture. I will note that I used a 3 inch wide patty pan and I cooked it for only 5 min in the water, then 20 in the oven. My squash did not turn out mushy at all this way. As far as portions for 1 squash...I used 2 tbsp of onions, 1 slice bacon, 1 tbsp breadcrumbs, abt 1/4 c shredded cheese, about 1 tbsp parmesan and it looked like about 2tbs of the scooped out squash. Oh, I did put in a pinch of minced garlic, pinch of salt & pepper. This was perfect for 1 serving. It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2013
These were delicious! I used cubed, pan-fried potatoes instead of bread crumbs and sausage instead of bacon. We made five huge stuffed pattypan squash with this recipe. They had to boil a little longer and then bake longer too, but it was a great use of overgrown pattypans from the garden!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sw33tchef
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2013
I made a version of this today for a potluck using a pattypan measuring about 8inches across. I used a combination of gluten free bread and quinoa. I pulsed together in the food processor onions, mushrooms,red pepper, asparagus,zucchini, and sautéed in a little coconut oil. It was delicious. (I couldn't rotate my photo.) I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2013
THIS WAS SO GOOD.... MY GARDEN IS IN OVERLOAD AND WOULD LIKE TO FREEZE THE STUFFED PATTYPAN....IS THERE A TRICK TO KEEP THEM FROM GETTING MUSHY
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2013
This is delicious! We had to all have seconds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2013
It was tasty - but dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 95) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Stuffed Summer Squash

See how to make summer squash stuffed with sausage and goat cheese.

Fried Stuffed Squash Blossoms

See how to make glorious fried squash blossoms.

Sausage and Rice Stuffed Acorn Squash

Roasted acorn squash stuffed with spicy sausage and leftover rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States