Strawberry Cake from Scratch Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Photo by lisak_87
Reviewed: May 28, 2013
I'm giving this recipe 4 stars because it does require some adjustments. However, with the adjustments, this recipe produces an amazing, moist, fluffy, and delicious strawberry cake! 1 - Measure the flour AFTER sifting it! It makes a huge difference! Here's what I did: I measured out 2 & 3/4 cups of cake flour & sifted it twice. I then measured 2 & 3/4 cups of the sifted flour to add to the actual cake. If you're really against sifting, lower the flour amount to 2 & 1/4 cup. 2 - Make the puree from fresh strawberries & a pinch of sugar. It's a must! 3 - Separate egg yolks & whites. Add the yolks into the batter when it tells you to "add the eggs." Beat the whites in a clean bowl until they form stiff peaks. Fold this into the batter just before pouring it into pans. 4 - Use salted butter OR add a pinch of salt to the batter if you are using unsalted butter 5 - Just a note: Make SURE that you flour your pans as the recipe tells you to! This helps the cake to "climb" (rise). I frosted this cake w/ chocolate buttercream per my brother's request. It was amazing! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2013
So easy to make. Light and fluffy! Thanks heaps cracked my strawberry cake complex! I can make one now!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2013
I did like the taste of this cake, but it was very dense. I also had a real problem with the baking time. I don't blame the recipe for that, though, as I was attempting to make this in a Pyrex bowl for a Princess Barbie Cake. I figured that I should double the baking time. At that point it was still not done, so I added an additional 15 minutes and the top was getting quite dark and crispy looking, so I pulled it out of the oven as it did spring back when touched. I let cool 15 minutes then tried to take it out of the bowl. Oh my! The entire thing collapsed - it was still completely raw in the middle! It made a heck of a mess. The color was nice and the outside 1/2" or so that was done tasted good. I had to throw it all away, obviously, and I made another cake using a different recipe that came out fine. I might try this again but make it in the "normal" pans to see how it comes out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mother Ann

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Streetsboro, Ohio, USA
Living In: Ravenna, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: May 11, 2013
Very dense and gooey, followed the recipe exactly. Did not rise, more like gelatin than cake...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2013
I used shortening instead of butter and I only added the egg yolks, while I whipped the egg whites into a meringue and folded them into the batter. It came out with a very nice crumb.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2013
LOVED IT!! My husband's favorite cake is Strawberry cake and for the longest I have been wanting to make him a strawberry cake from scratch, so when I found this one I wanted to try it. It came out wonderful. NO MORE BOXES FOR ME!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by D_GOODEN
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2013
I made this and it was delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2013
I made this recipe tonight. Love it!!!! The directions were easy to follow. The cake made my house smell yummy. Plus it taste amazing:) Saved this recipe:) I definitly will be making it again. Thank you for sharing it:) Laura
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura Guynup

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2013
Great recipes cakes came out nice and fluffy. I however read other reviews that said too much jello was used so I used less and heavy cream instead. Delicious. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2013
Dont know what i did but i hated this cake. It was dry and very dense. Will not try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Braunfels, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 699) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Strawberry Cake from Scratch

This impressive cake is rich with the flavor of real strawberries.

Dirt Cake I

Fool 'em with a fun cake that looks just like a flower pot.

Banana Cake VI

Discover the simple secret to super-moist banana cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States