Strawberry Cake from Scratch Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2014
Very good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2014
This was sooo delicious!! You can't stop eating it, haha!! It'll definitely be a family favorite, Thank you for posting the recipe! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tammy Moore Usie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2014
It's easy to fix this recipe. To make it light and fluffy you simply have to separate the eggs when the recipe calls for the eggs just use the yellows then after everything else is in beat the whites separately until stiff peaks form. then fold the whites into the rest of the batter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2014
Yes tried strawberry cake from website it was superb !!!!!! same way as shown above
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2014
I used .30 oz of jello and that was sweet enough. I took the advice of reviewer naples34102 and added 1T baking powder and 1t salt as well as her filling recipe for the cake- that tasted amazing. I sifted the flour before measuring and also used three 9" pans, like a lot of users did- I 100% agree, the cake came out more fluffy and after it was iced, the cake was big and beautiful. Instead of frozen strawberries, I used fresh strawberries and put them into a pan with a cup of sugar and a splash of vanilla extract over low heat for a little over an hour for a delicious "puree". Don't put the strawberries it a blender to puree after you are done cooking it, your mixer will take care of it. It was for my mom's birthday and my whole family absolutely loved it and said it tasted like a bakery cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2014
My guests raved and I might sneak a piece for breakfast this a.m. It was amazing! This is one of the best cakes I've ever made. -didn't bother separating the eggs and it was fine -did measure the flour after sifting -did reduce sugar to 1 1/2 cups and it was perfect -used fresh unsweetened strawberries -cooked it in a 11 x 15 pan I made cream cheese frosting (2 lbs cream cheese with 2 packages cream cheese, which was too much frosting, half that would probably be fine). Used more of the strawberry puree to beat frosting to the consistency I wanted. Another time I made it with cherry jello and stirred in half a can of cherry pie filling. The other half can, I beat into 1 lb of powdered sugar and 1 block of cream cheese. This was still more frosting than I needed for an 11x15 pan but would likely be enough for a two-layer cake if spread thinly. Also delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2014
I made this for my husband for our anniversary. I made it cherry instead of strawberry. My husband loved it. I thought it was too dense, however. I did sift the flour and separated the eggs and added the stiff egg whites at the end. I would make this cake again and put in only half of the jello powder. I think that would rectify the problem with the density.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lbaldt
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2014
I made this cake last night... 2 Layers... I used the Recipe for Buttercream Frosting which actually consisted of no Butter at all... It called for Shortening... I got a lot of Positive Reviews on this cake & the frosting... Me personally I thought it was a little too sweet... But I had several people request it as one of their Birthday Cakes... I think it stood up well, wasn't too soft, so it would probably stack well... It was all in all a fun cake to make...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lbaldt

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2014
Just made this cake and it came out awesome. I was somewhat hesitant about using the jello mix fearing it would give the cake an artificial taste but to my surprise the batter tasted great and had a beautiful pink color. I have important suggestions for preparing this cake. For a less dense and more airy light texture, you must sift the flour first (I used all purpose) then measure out the 2 2/3 cups. Most importantly, you must cream the butter and sugar for at least 5 minutes, longer is better this enables more air bubbles to form aiding in a much more light cake. Good luck and enjoy! Thank you for the person who submitted this recipe...love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rudysfavorites

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Danbury, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2014
Not for me, sorry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 753) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Strawberry Cake from Scratch

This impressive cake is rich with the flavor of real strawberries.

Dirt Cake I

Fool 'em with a fun cake that looks just like a flower pot.

Banana Cake VI

Discover the simple secret to super-moist banana cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States