Strawberry Cake from Scratch Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
I don't think of myself as a very good baker... certainly not a veteran baker, but, this cake was surprisingly simple and turned out awesome. I made it for my grandmother's birthday and it was a big hit. I used the Cream Cheese Frosting II from allrecipes.com.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jenleekim

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Cornelia, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2015
My family and I loved this cake. I made it exactly as the recipe is and it turned out fantastic. Next time though I will use 3 cake pans. Recipe called for 2 pans although the picture is 3. It was too much batter for just 2 pans. Luckily I forgot to put the baking powder in :) so it did not rise over my 2 cake pans. Almost did but not quite. Imagine if I had used the baking powder with just 2 pans...my oven would have been a mess. As it was though the cake turned out great. Thanks. Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2015
I made a little extra strawberry puree, and added it to my homemade vanilla frosting...and that made it AWESOME!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 1Princess

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2015
I followed the recipe except I didn't add the jello, and instead tripled the strawberry puree and added 1 cup of strawberry daiquiri mixer (non alcoholic). The cake came out fluffy and yummy. Make sure you sift the flour before measuring it into the batter, there is a difference. also- you don't have to have the eggs and milk at room temperature if you use a stand mixer, the friction from the attachment brings the ingredients to the right temperature (:
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Summer Day

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2015
It was dense and heavy and it didn't taste very good..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2015
Made these as cupcakes! Omg this was really great!...filter the puree through cheesecloth to remove seeds, makes for a better texture
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sylvie TorokNagy Murray

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2014
Followed the recipe exactly and followed advice such as sifting flour before measuring, and this was dry and dense.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2014
Cake tasted much too artificial. I followed recipe except for separating egg yolks and beat whites into peaks and added separately as recommended. Cake did not turn out dense and texture was fine BUT the Jello dominates the flavor, that i may as well have baked a box cake! I also tried a second run with much less Jello flavoring and it was slightly better but I still would not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shira

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Washington, D.C., USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2014
This is the best strawberry cake ever. I've made it twice, and both times they were a hit. First was for my daughter who wanted me to bake her strawberry cupcakes and bring them to her college for her birthday. She even had some stolen from their community fridge. The next event was Thanksgiving Day dinner. They were some of the desserts offered and I had to stash some away so my little ones could get a chance at them before they were all gone. The real hit came from my four-year old who doesn't like cakes (what are the odds). Well he ate the entire stash over time. For those who said that it didn't turn out right, I'd say follow the recipe to the letter. I forgot to add that this recipe does not call for salt. Salt is a very vital part of any cake recipe. I've always added salt both times I made this cake and it was perfect. Today, I followed the recipe and forgot the salt. Well needless to say, it does not have the same taste as before. It definitely felt like it was missing something (salt). So please add a teaspoon of salt in this recipe or it will taste off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2014
Ok here goes this is AMAZING!! My whole family enjoyed and i have been making this every week for the last 3 weeks. The flavor is amazing and its very moist. Thanks for this great recipe. Angela
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 747) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Strawberry Cake from Scratch

This impressive cake is rich with the flavor of real strawberries.

Dirt Cake I

Fool 'em with a fun cake that looks just like a flower pot.

Banana Cake VI

Discover the simple secret to super-moist banana cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States