Strawberry Cake from Scratch Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2014
This recipe is very helpful when it comes to in a hurry B-day cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2014
I got rave reviews on this cake! I made a cream cheese frosting and used strawberry purée for the liquid. Made a beautiful 3layer birthday cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2014
Delicious, moist and tender cake with a great strawberry flavour! Followed the recipe exactly and turned out lovely!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baker Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2014
This cake turned out great, everyone loved it very moist. Did not have the frozen strawberry so I used fresh one that I alreay had frozen, puree them and the cake came turn out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2014
I make this for my dad every father's day and each year for his birthday! He absolutely loves it! I make a cream cheese icing to go with it and in between layers I put fresh slices of strawberries and put them on top as decoration. Definitely a fave!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Powhatan, Virginia, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2014
great recipe I use strawberry jam for the strawberry puree and it works fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2014
Everyone who's trid this swear the cake tastes like strawberry ice cream. It was a little on the dense side, even after sifting the flour before measuring, but I was expecting it, and it still had a wonderful flavor. Made cream cheese icing to go with and it really set off the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Deb
Reviewed: May 23, 2014
I used my nutri bullet to purée the strawberries. Everyone loved it! I especially loved the frosting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2014
I made this cake on valentine's day. I didn't have any strawberries to reduce and add to the batter so I omitted it. I also used all purpose flour rather than cake flour. These changes aside, I didn't tweak the recipe amounts or anything. It was a great texture, and moist although it could have been moister if I hadn't left it in the oven those couple extra minutes. I used a dark chocolate mousse to fill and ice it, and it was to die for. I tried a strawberry cake recipe that only used fresh berries to give the cake flavor but it was bland and a little doughy. This one is in my keeper list for summery cakes now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2014
Good recipe. I did changed a couple of minor things. I used sour cream instead of milk and added a teaspoon of baking soda. I also made a strawberry puree, but I cooked my fresh strawberries and made a syrup then pureed them. When the puree cooled it was like strawberry preserves. Put that in between my layers and also in the cake and the cream cheese icing. I also used cake flour and lined my pans with parchment paper. OMG, what a cake. We put most of it in the freezer so we wouldn't eat all of it. It freezes well. Thanks for the scratch recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 706) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Strawberry Cake from Scratch

This impressive cake is rich with the flavor of real strawberries.

Dirt Cake I

Fool 'em with a fun cake that looks just like a flower pot.

Banana Cake VI

Discover the simple secret to super-moist banana cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States