Strawberry Cake from Scratch Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2015
tried this cake recipe recently and it was delicious but was very dense and heavy. I used the recipe exactly as it called for. I will try it again but this time I will separate the eggs like others have suggested. The taste was very good though and everyone liked it but I did not like the density of the cake. I did use a cream cheese/sugar icing which was perfect and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MommaChef
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2015
Awesome cake! I made this for my daughter's fourth birthday party, and kids and adults alike couldn't get enough. Followed the recipe to the letter and it turned out fantastic! It was gone so fast I should've made two. My dad wants me to make it for his wedding now. ^^
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2015
It was a little dry, but good flavor. I wish I was able to see the full reviews so I could know how others remedied the issue.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon Questel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lenia
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2015
Yes and it nearly bit my devilishly gorgeous chocolate cake next to it in taste! Brilliant recipe, easy delicious !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lenia

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Nicosia, Nicosia, Cyprus

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2015
I tried this recepie and to my surprise it came out really really well. Thankyou!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2015
I loved this recipe! I used butter cream frosting and it turned out great:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2015
This is entirely too sweet, so much so that I couldn't frost it. Adding the jell-o which is sweetened with 2 cups of sugar is just too much. Even before I added the puree, I tasted the batter and sugar rush. If I make this again, I will cut out 3/4 cups of tue white sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2015
Moist and delicious! Great strawberry flavor. I made them with this Sturdy Whipped Cream frosting: http://allrecipes.com/recipe/sturdy-whipped-cream-frosting/detail.aspx
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carolyn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2015
Followed the directions exactly, we found the cake was wonderful when chilled. Homemade cream cheese icing was delicious. We're making 7 of these for a Church gathering this weekend, so we're using 9x13 sheet pans...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2015
I will say the flavor of the cake is wonderful, but wow what a mess! Guess cleaning my oven is now on my agenda for the afternoon :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 748) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Strawberry Cake from Scratch

This impressive cake is rich with the flavor of real strawberries.

Dirt Cake I

Fool 'em with a fun cake that looks just like a flower pot.

Banana Cake VI

Discover the simple secret to super-moist banana cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States