Strawberry Cake from Scratch Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2015
This cake was reeeeeally dense but I didn't have cake flour so that's probably the reason why. I did try to substitute by adding some cornstarch in ....didn't work, cake was still HEAVY. As far as the taste? WONDERFUL! The jello didn't make it too sweet for me but as every good cook & baker knows...you TASTE as you add your ingredients so it isn't overwhelming for the finished product. I made a strawberry cream cheese frosting and added strawberry puree to it and it came out great. Next time I will use cake flour but the cake was still very good! I may break it down to three cake pans instead of two as someone else suggested also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2015
After reading these reviews, I decided to make this cake anyway. It was so dense and almost rubbery. Followed the recipe exactly except separated the egg whites and whipped them as one review suggested. I definitely won't be trying this one again. I've been cooking a long time and was very disappointed in this cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2015
Wonderful cake.... everyone loved it. Followed recipe exactly!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rushmore, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2015
Should have followed mother's advice..."never bake a cake for the first time if you plan on taking it somewhere". I admit to being in a hurry as Easter was the next day, and so I didn't read the reviews. Had I done so my cake may have turned out better, or should I say, turned out at all. My cake fell apart just as another reviewer stated. I did follow the recipe as stated, and the modifications others applied may have made the difference for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2015
tried this cake recipe recently and it was delicious but was very dense and heavy. I used the recipe exactly as it called for. I will try it again but this time I will separate the eggs like others have suggested. The taste was very good though and everyone liked it but I did not like the density of the cake. I did use a cream cheese/sugar icing which was perfect and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MommaChef
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2015
Awesome cake! I made this for my daughter's fourth birthday party, and kids and adults alike couldn't get enough. Followed the recipe to the letter and it turned out fantastic! It was gone so fast I should've made two. My dad wants me to make it for his wedding now. ^^
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2015
It was a little dry, but good flavor. I wish I was able to see the full reviews so I could know how others remedied the issue.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon Questel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lenia
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2015
Yes and it nearly bit my devilishly gorgeous chocolate cake next to it in taste! Brilliant recipe, easy delicious !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lenia

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Nicosia, Nicosia, Cyprus

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2015
I tried this recepie and to my surprise it came out really really well. Thankyou!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2015
I loved this recipe! I used butter cream frosting and it turned out great:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 753) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Strawberry Cake from Scratch

This impressive cake is rich with the flavor of real strawberries.

Dirt Cake I

Fool 'em with a fun cake that looks just like a flower pot.

Banana Cake VI

Discover the simple secret to super-moist banana cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States