Strawberry Cake from Scratch Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2013
it came out so bad..planned on taking it for a party but had to go without it...i would like to tell anybody who's thinkin bout making this cake...pls don't...it's a waste of time and money...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stefizac

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Bangalore, Karnataka, India

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
Even though I tried everything in other reviews to help keep this cake from being too dense (sifting flour before measuring; separating egg whites, whipping, and adding at end; and using 3 layers), the cake still came out so solid and dense- almost hard! The flavor was good, but I would not try this again. I made it for my daughter's birthday party and I was embarrassed - everyone ate their piece, but I didn't feel good about it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2012
I followed every trick and hint by other reviewers including sifting before measuring and folding in egg whites at the end. Although the flavor is good, the cake was heavy and dense. Another employee and myself brought a strawberry cake to an office get-together. They cleaned up her cake while I took cake home. The other cake was lighter and more flavorful. This recipe lacks enough strawberry puree.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2012
SUCH AN AWSOME CAKE!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2012
i think the first day it was soft and moist,the next day when i wanted ti decorate it,it had toughened,though the taste was nice but it was a bit tough to cut through,what adjustments can one make with the cake?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2012
it was good,but i didn't have cake flour. so i had to use all- purpose flour.it was a little thick.i made strawberry iceing, and it was the bomb!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Haley

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Griffin, Georgia, USA
Living In: Hampton, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2012
It was ok to me. Everyone else loved it ! I thought it was too dense and not fluffy enough . I made a 9x11 cake and made my own pink strawberry icing. next time I'am going to add sliced strawberries as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chris/tink

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pearland, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2012
The recipe and the cake are delicious.. Some hints.. Make sure you cook the puree so that its thick and not much liquid otherwise it may make the dough too runny.. Let the cake cool at least 20 minutes before removing from pan otherwise it will fall apart. You may need to run a knife on the edges to loosen in case it has cooked to the side. Works well in charecter pans and fills in nicely. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2012
Love this recipe! I make cakes on the side but didn't have a good strawberry cake recipe. I tried this one for cupcakes for a birthday party two weeks ago, and have had 4 orders since. I'm making 5 dozen tonight for 2 parties this weekend. Delicious flavor, nice crumb. Great with my cream cheese icing! It's a little sticky on the outside, I recommend freezing for a bit before adding the crumb coat if you're decorating a cake. For those who had trouble with this recipe: it makes a BIG difference if you use name brand ingredients (yes, it really does change the flavor), use superfine sugar (I don't mean powdered) if you can find it, and make sure all your ingredients are room temperature. And follow the recipe exactly. Taking things out of order, like adding the eggs at the end, change the result. You're building a chemical reaction that will make the cake bake just so, adding ingredients out of order interrupts the process. BTW, I did not add or take away anything from this recipe at any time. Great every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Norfolk, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2012
Didn't like it. it is too dense. I made it into three 8 inch layers. followed all the tips from the other reviewers. separated the egg whites and beat them until I can see white peaks and mixed them witth the cake batter in the last.Added flour, milk, strawberry puree alternatively.Frosted the cake with chocolate frosting and also put strawberry puree sweetened and slices of strawberrry between two layers and choclate frosting and cream cheese frosting between the other two layers. still didnt like it as it is really dense
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 706) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Strawberry Cake from Scratch

This impressive cake is rich with the flavor of real strawberries.

Dirt Cake I

Fool 'em with a fun cake that looks just like a flower pot.

Banana Cake VI

Discover the simple secret to super-moist banana cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States