Strawberry Cake from Scratch Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2012
The recipe and the cake are delicious.. Some hints.. Make sure you cook the puree so that its thick and not much liquid otherwise it may make the dough too runny.. Let the cake cool at least 20 minutes before removing from pan otherwise it will fall apart. You may need to run a knife on the edges to loosen in case it has cooked to the side. Works well in charecter pans and fills in nicely. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2012
Love this recipe! I make cakes on the side but didn't have a good strawberry cake recipe. I tried this one for cupcakes for a birthday party two weeks ago, and have had 4 orders since. I'm making 5 dozen tonight for 2 parties this weekend. Delicious flavor, nice crumb. Great with my cream cheese icing! It's a little sticky on the outside, I recommend freezing for a bit before adding the crumb coat if you're decorating a cake. For those who had trouble with this recipe: it makes a BIG difference if you use name brand ingredients (yes, it really does change the flavor), use superfine sugar (I don't mean powdered) if you can find it, and make sure all your ingredients are room temperature. And follow the recipe exactly. Taking things out of order, like adding the eggs at the end, change the result. You're building a chemical reaction that will make the cake bake just so, adding ingredients out of order interrupts the process. BTW, I did not add or take away anything from this recipe at any time. Great every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Norfolk, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2012
Didn't like it. it is too dense. I made it into three 8 inch layers. followed all the tips from the other reviewers. separated the egg whites and beat them until I can see white peaks and mixed them witth the cake batter in the last.Added flour, milk, strawberry puree alternatively.Frosted the cake with chocolate frosting and also put strawberry puree sweetened and slices of strawberrry between two layers and choclate frosting and cream cheese frosting between the other two layers. still didnt like it as it is really dense
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2012
Such an amazing recipe! Due to my son's dairy allergy I altered the recipe a bit using soy milk rather than whole milk, and 3/4 cup of oil rather then butter and it turned out excellent. Will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2012
This is the best strawberry cake ever and is always a hit with my family and friends. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2012
It was perfect! Layered fresh strawberry between layers and to top the cake. Everyone loved it! Every crumb was eaten in less then 24 hours (4 adults) :) Can't wait to make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ZOINKS
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2012
VERY GOOD but I used it for a checkerboard cake and the strawberry part was more moist than the yellow cake and didn't rise as much. I didn't use the whole packet of gelatin for this reason....because I didn't want that weird gelatinous consistency but it still was a tad overly moist. Very good strawberry flavor however.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2012
Delicious. Comes out moist and dense, which suits the preferences of my family. After looking through numerous reviews, I adopted these changes: Added 1/2 tsp salt; reduced sugar to 1 1/2 cups; used all purpose flour and cornstarch (2 TBSPs corn starch plus enough all purpose flour to make one cup) as I did not have cake flour; used 2 percent milk; used unsweetened fresh strawberries to make puree; used 2 9-inch cake pans; when frosting, put some raspberry preserves between the layers for a little tang! it was fabulous
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2012
I absolutely love the flavor of this cake, however, it shrinks quite a bit... too much. I assume because of the jello. If anyone has an answer for me to prevent the shrinkage, please respond.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cakemorecake
Home Town: Alhambra, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2012
The cake turned out dense for me, but it was yummy. I found that the taste even seemed to get better after a day or two. People were pleasantly with how strong the strawberry flavor was.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 699) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Strawberry Cake from Scratch

This impressive cake is rich with the flavor of real strawberries.

Dirt Cake I

Fool 'em with a fun cake that looks just like a flower pot.

Banana Cake VI

Discover the simple secret to super-moist banana cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States