Strawberry Cake from Scratch Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: May 30, 2013
This is one of my favorite cake recipes. I have even used ths recipe to make raspberry cake, substituting anything strawberry with raspberry, so raspberry jello and raspberry purée. Delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lisak_87
Reviewed: May 28, 2013
I'm giving this recipe 4 stars because it does require some adjustments. However, with the adjustments, this recipe produces an amazing, moist, fluffy, and delicious strawberry cake! 1 - Measure the flour AFTER sifting it! It makes a huge difference! Here's what I did: I measured out 2 & 3/4 cups of cake flour & sifted it twice. I then measured 2 & 3/4 cups of the sifted flour to add to the actual cake. If you're really against sifting, lower the flour amount to 2 & 1/4 cup. 2 - Make the puree from fresh strawberries & a pinch of sugar. It's a must! 3 - Separate egg yolks & whites. Add the yolks into the batter when it tells you to "add the eggs." Beat the whites in a clean bowl until they form stiff peaks. Fold this into the batter just before pouring it into pans. 4 - Use salted butter OR add a pinch of salt to the batter if you are using unsalted butter 5 - Just a note: Make SURE that you flour your pans as the recipe tells you to! This helps the cake to "climb" (rise). I frosted this cake w/ chocolate buttercream per my brother's request. It was amazing! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2013
So easy to make. Light and fluffy! Thanks heaps cracked my strawberry cake complex! I can make one now!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2013
I did like the taste of this cake, but it was very dense. I also had a real problem with the baking time. I don't blame the recipe for that, though, as I was attempting to make this in a Pyrex bowl for a Princess Barbie Cake. I figured that I should double the baking time. At that point it was still not done, so I added an additional 15 minutes and the top was getting quite dark and crispy looking, so I pulled it out of the oven as it did spring back when touched. I let cool 15 minutes then tried to take it out of the bowl. Oh my! The entire thing collapsed - it was still completely raw in the middle! It made a heck of a mess. The color was nice and the outside 1/2" or so that was done tasted good. I had to throw it all away, obviously, and I made another cake using a different recipe that came out fine. I might try this again but make it in the "normal" pans to see how it comes out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mother Ann

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Streetsboro, Ohio, USA
Living In: Ravenna, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: May 11, 2013
Very dense and gooey, followed the recipe exactly. Did not rise, more like gelatin than cake...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2013
I used shortening instead of butter and I only added the egg yolks, while I whipped the egg whites into a meringue and folded them into the batter. It came out with a very nice crumb.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2013
LOVED IT!! My husband's favorite cake is Strawberry cake and for the longest I have been wanting to make him a strawberry cake from scratch, so when I found this one I wanted to try it. It came out wonderful. NO MORE BOXES FOR ME!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by D_GOODEN
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2013
I made this and it was delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2013
I made this recipe tonight. Love it!!!! The directions were easy to follow. The cake made my house smell yummy. Plus it taste amazing:) Saved this recipe:) I definitly will be making it again. Thank you for sharing it:) Laura
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura Guynup

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2013
Great recipes cakes came out nice and fluffy. I however read other reviews that said too much jello was used so I used less and heavy cream instead. Delicious. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 720) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Strawberry Cake from Scratch

This impressive cake is rich with the flavor of real strawberries.

Dirt Cake I

Fool 'em with a fun cake that looks just like a flower pot.

Banana Cake VI

Discover the simple secret to super-moist banana cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States