Strawberry Cake from Scratch Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2015
It's not "from scratch" when it has jello mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ket Jensen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2015
This cake turned out beautiful and delicious! I added 2 tbls. of vinegar to my milk, cut back the baking powder to 2tsp. and added 1/2 tsp of baking soda. Cut each layer in half and filled with a homemade strawberry filling, then frosted with cream cheese frosting and decorated with designs from a pink sugar sheet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Katie Tipton
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2015
I did not care for this recipe. I've baked my whole life. The batter looked fabulous. I was confident they'd be delicious. Boy, was I wrong. I made them into cupcakes, they all sunk in in the middle. The finished product was not fluffy. They looked unappealing, nothing I could bring to a party. I thought they may still taste good and could be enjoyed at home. Nope. I remade the batter and this time folded in the egg whites at the end. Same result. Same consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katie Tipton

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2015
So dense and lacked flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2015
It took mine a little longer than 30 minutes to bake, but it tasted great with whipped cream cheese icing :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2015
This review is for Benc: I feel for ya honey. Here is what I "think" went wrong for you. Once you begin to very, VERY gently fold in your egg whites with a rubber spatula, bone dry (the spatula) you must stop after folding just about 3 or 5 turns. It will NEVER look incorporated, the whole idea of beating the egg white separately, which must also be done with clean and bone dry beaters!!!! Is to give the cake "lift" if you try to over incorporate, the whole thing will fall flat. OOPS, but it's happened to us all, so don't beat yourself up. Beating and folding in egg whites is a tricky thing and it's best if you can watch a professional video of it being done if you are a first timer. I was and had the same trouble some years back, my dear.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2015
Made this in a 13/9inch pan and it was amazing .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by cayrae
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2015
Love this cake recipe....so easy to make...Perfect for baby girl showers :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2015
I loved this recipe the first time I made it and I make it again and again on dorm for the girls who don't like chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Abigail Siders

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2015
I made this cake for my daughter's first birthday last year and it was a hit with my very large family. It was dense and delicious. I made it into a tiered cake with buttercream frosting and covered in fondant. I am going to use this recipe again to make cake pops for my nieces upcoming wedding shower.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 762) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Strawberry Cake from Scratch

This impressive cake is rich with the flavor of real strawberries.

Dirt Cake I

Fool 'em with a fun cake that looks just like a flower pot.

Banana Cake VI

Discover the simple secret to super-moist banana cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States