Strawberry Cake from Scratch Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 9, 2003
one of the best Strawberry cakes I have tried.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2003
I made this cake today and took it to work. What an AWESOME cake! I had some strawberries that I had to use up and am I ever glad I checked here first! I did make it in a 13x9 inch pan instead of the double layer. Baked it for 45 minutes (glass). Then made a "fluff" topping made of 1/2 cool whip and 1/2 cream cheese. I whipped these together till smooth and then stirred in about a cup of finely chopped strawberries. Did I ever get the rave reviews. Each person actually took a piece of cake and then spooned the "fluff" over that. Thanks for a great recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
150 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OODLES_OR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2003
I found this cake to be fairly mediocre in presentation and taste. Rather than frosting it, I sliced fresh strawberries over it and served with whipped cream as you would a shortcake. The odd pink color was camouflaged in a cloud of whipped cream and berries. The flavor was really enhanced by serving it this way. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2003
I have a six yr old boy and he is allergic to soy. He had been asking for a strawberry cake and I have searched HIGH and LOW for one. You can NOT begin to imagine how GLAD I was when I saw THIS recipe! IT WAS GREAT!!!!! Wish there were more stars available to give you!! THANK YOU EVER SO MUCH FOR SUBMITTING IT!!! By the way, I made cupcakes too. BOTH turned out WONDERFUL! VERY TASTY, MOIST, AND FULL OF FLAVOR!! Again, THANK you so very much for submitting it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2003
The cake was a bit too sweet. 2 cups of sugar, Jell-o and sweetened strawberries is a lot of sugar. I would cut down on the sugar, probably up to 1 cup. Definitly use a chocolate glaze. (1/2 cup semisweet chocolate chips, 2 tbsp. butter & 1 tbsp. corn syrup, melt and pour the glaze over the still warm cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2003
ver good. it doesn't even need the frosting or whipped cream! That fresh strawberry cake is delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2003
This was good. Made it for some friends and they all seemed to really enjoy it. I don't make cakes from scratch very often, I found this one very dense. Is that how they're supposed to be? Doesn't matter, it was still very, very good. I used 1/2 Cool whip,1/2 cream cheese, 1/4 cup powdered sugar and 1/4 cup milk for frosting. Topped with fresh strawberries. Looked great, tasted great. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Schaumburg, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2003
I made this cake today. It was OK. I did it with unsweetened strawberries and it was sweet, so be sure to cut down the sugar. Serve it with whipped cream and not-to-sweet strawberry coulis. It will taste better. Perhaps it would be a good idea to eat it tomorrow to let the cake develop the strawberry flavor. I wonder how could I enhance the strawberry flavor. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2003
I made this cake and iced it with cream cheese icing, it was moist and delicious! A very easy cake to make, this will be one of my regulars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2003
I would give this recipe 5 stars for taste, but it came out so soft that the whole thing fell apart. I followed the directions exactly and it still came out so moist that it fell apart. My family just picked it apart though and everyone loved the taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 700) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Strawberry Cake from Scratch

This impressive cake is rich with the flavor of real strawberries.

Dirt Cake I

Fool 'em with a fun cake that looks just like a flower pot.

Banana Cake VI

Discover the simple secret to super-moist banana cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States