Strawberry Cake from Scratch Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2014
I made this cake today to use up some strawberries that I had. I didn't have whole milk so I made some butter milk to use instead. I then realized I didn't have any strawberry jello powder so I used raspberry instead. I cut the sugar to 1 3/4 cups but kept everything else the same. I read almost all of the reviews and was a little hesitant to try it but what the heck, let's go for it. Well, I decided to bake it in a bundt pan and baked it for 50 mins. It rose beautifully and smelled awesome. After removing from the pan when cool, this was easy too, I mixed some of the puree with some cream cheese and icing sugar. It turned out great, beautiful colour and texture, not dense at all. I did make sure to thoroughly cream the butter, sugar and jello powder so it wouldn't be grainy. I didn't separate the eggs either, just added when called for. I used my immersion blender to create the puree. Didn't bother putting it through the strainer. Worked great. I've added some pics if anyone is interested in seeing how it came out. I doubt it is going to last long. Everyone loves it.!!!! For those of you who thought it tasted artificial, I recommend not to use sugar free jello, it has chemical sweetners in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ajax, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2014
I have never made a cake from scratch before and I have been baking for a long time. This cake has several steps and does take time. I strongly urge 1)check to be sure your baking powder is still active; 2)separating the eggs is the best way to add them--I separated the eggs and beat the yolks before adding; 3)fresh strawberry is great--I used 6 big ones and 1 TBSP of sugar in my food processor. I think the next time (and there will be a next time), I'll cut back the flour to 2 1/4 c. I also think I'll use real strawberries using my food processor. I didn't think the flavor was strawberry enough and don't want to buy strawberry extract (but will consider it). The cake was good but a little denser than I expected but received the A-OK from husband so it must be good since he isn't a real big cake eater. Also I read the reviews and someone suggested to freeze the cake before frosting and it was far and above better than Pam (LOL)! I will make this again with fresh baking powder. I am very pleased with my efforts and the result was better than I expected!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandy Beatty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Castle, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
This cake was incredible!! Followed the advice of others. I seperated the egg whites and yolks. Whipped the whites into soft peaks and folded them in. Also, I sifted the flour and then after sifting measured it again. I spread some strawberry puree in between the two cake layers along with icing and it was very moist! I do not bake a lot and this cake turned out great. Everyone was impressed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2014
I don't even have to sifted the flour or separate eggs. It come out very light, fluffy and moist. Oh I change from whole milk to butter cream because I don't have whole milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by numy
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2014
i made this recipe for a cake and cupcakes and it turned out great. i filled the cake and frosted the cupcakes with strawberry mousse . it was not too strong or too sweet. it has a wonderfully light texture and a very nice color. i used fresh strawberry puree (i sprinkled a little sugar on the strawberries, left them for about an hour, pureed and sieved them). all my family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by numy

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Cairo, Al-Qahirah, Egypt
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2014
Hello everyone, I have a ? when people say that they used 3 9inch pans is that using the measurements that are stated on this page or are they doubling the recipe bcuz to fill 3 pans these measurements aren't enough r they pls let me know thank you.i had to put a rating to post this but I haven't tried it yet but I hope its comes out great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2014
This cake was a slam dunk for me. My family loved it. It was literally gone in 2 days. I rate this recipe 5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Vicksburg, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2014
Because of the reviews, I was so confident in this recipe that I made it for my daughter's birthday party without first giving it a test. All I could taste was the gelatin. I put more fresh strawberry puree than the suggested amount, but the gelatin flavor was still so overpowering. I decided after reading several reviews to make 3 layers instead of 2 and it was still a little dense. I didn't receive any complaints at the party, but no compliments either. I take pride in my baking and was disappointed that this cake recipe didn't yield the results I'd expected. My 4 year old daughter loves "pink" cake enough that I will give it a second try, but definitely will make some modifications (much less gelatin, or maybe none, and more fresh strawberries)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by angelwolf
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2014
the baking power say to difftern thing it says one thin on the web set and another on the vedio
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
This makes about 3 dozen cupcakes. I have baked a lot of cupcakes. A LOT. These taste delicious. They do not rise up well. They are very flat. If you know that going in, then go for it, because the taste is great. Fun twist, I used cherry instead of strawberry for the jello and the fruit and tossed in a fistful of chocolate chips. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mkecupcakequeen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pomona, California, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 748) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Strawberry Cake from Scratch

This impressive cake is rich with the flavor of real strawberries.

Dirt Cake I

Fool 'em with a fun cake that looks just like a flower pot.

Banana Cake VI

Discover the simple secret to super-moist banana cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States