Strawberry Cake from Scratch Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: May 29, 2014
great recipe I use strawberry jam for the strawberry puree and it works fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2014
Everyone who's trid this swear the cake tastes like strawberry ice cream. It was a little on the dense side, even after sifting the flour before measuring, but I was expecting it, and it still had a wonderful flavor. Made cream cheese icing to go with and it really set off the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Deb
Reviewed: May 23, 2014
I used my nutri bullet to purée the strawberries. Everyone loved it! I especially loved the frosting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2014
I made this cake on valentine's day. I didn't have any strawberries to reduce and add to the batter so I omitted it. I also used all purpose flour rather than cake flour. These changes aside, I didn't tweak the recipe amounts or anything. It was a great texture, and moist although it could have been moister if I hadn't left it in the oven those couple extra minutes. I used a dark chocolate mousse to fill and ice it, and it was to die for. I tried a strawberry cake recipe that only used fresh berries to give the cake flavor but it was bland and a little doughy. This one is in my keeper list for summery cakes now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2014
Good recipe. I did changed a couple of minor things. I used sour cream instead of milk and added a teaspoon of baking soda. I also made a strawberry puree, but I cooked my fresh strawberries and made a syrup then pureed them. When the puree cooled it was like strawberry preserves. Put that in between my layers and also in the cake and the cream cheese icing. I also used cake flour and lined my pans with parchment paper. OMG, what a cake. We put most of it in the freezer so we wouldn't eat all of it. It freezes well. Thanks for the scratch recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2014
I made this for my husband as a late birthday cake, OMG!!!!! This cake is amazing!!! It's rich almost like a pound cake which is what won me over! Love the jello packet idea! I figure you can do this with any flavor jello! Hubby says, "No more boxed strawberry cake for me!" I've created a monster! Lol!!! Thanks for sharing!??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2014
Made these into cupcakes (24 big ones). Followed the recipe to a T except for separating eggs, beating whites, and folding in at the end. The result, a divine, fluffy, delicious cupcake topped with cream cheese icing and a chocolate dipped strawberry. So ridiculously good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BBHOLT

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2014
Awesome...tasty,easy...no leftovers. : D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2014
I made this cake yesterday. I think I added too much sugar. Otherwise I frosted it with CoolWhip and put it in the refrigerator to get cold. And it was AWESOME! Next time I won't put so much sugar in my strawberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2014
I made this recipe for Mother's Day, and it was a hit! Members of the family who usually do not eat fruit absolutely loved it. I followed the recipe exactly, and it turned out perfect. I used vanilla buttercream frosting in between layers, and on the outside. This made it that much better, with no cake left! I would certainly recommend this recipe to anyone looking for a fun and delicious cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grace Anthony

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 721) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Strawberry Cake from Scratch

This impressive cake is rich with the flavor of real strawberries.

Dirt Cake I

Fool 'em with a fun cake that looks just like a flower pot.

Banana Cake VI

Discover the simple secret to super-moist banana cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States