Strawberry Cake from Scratch Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2014
I followed the recipe as written, split into 2 9 in round pans and 25 minutes into baking, the cakes where bubbling over the side of the pans and still very soupy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Whitney Svoboda

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2014
It was just WAY too sweet for me! The jello powder in this recipe made it too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cambridge, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2014
Made this twice in two weeks - wow!! My husband has requested it for his birthday -it was a hit!! Better with fresh strawberries I think. (Tried both) thanks for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2014
This recipe was so good, one of the best cake recipes I've found so far. I made a few changes but nothing major. Being a beginner with baking from scratch I've read that some people use pudding mix in their cakes and it helps make it moist. So I used a box of strawberry cream pudding mix that was sitting in my cabinet for months instead of buying jello mix. I also used fresh strawberries instead of frozen. It came out delicious and was gone by that night. It was a really fluffy and moist cake. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2014
I baked this cake twice. The second attempt was just as disastrous. Each time my cakes turned out like pink rubber.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by khc2219

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2014
This recipe is very helpful when it comes to in a hurry B-day cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2014
I got rave reviews on this cake! I made a cream cheese frosting and used strawberry purée for the liquid. Made a beautiful 3layer birthday cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2014
Delicious, moist and tender cake with a great strawberry flavour! Followed the recipe exactly and turned out lovely!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baker Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2014
This cake turned out great, everyone loved it very moist. Did not have the frozen strawberry so I used fresh one that I alreay had frozen, puree them and the cake came turn out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2014
I make this for my dad every father's day and each year for his birthday! He absolutely loves it! I make a cream cheese icing to go with it and in between layers I put fresh slices of strawberries and put them on top as decoration. Definitely a fave!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachael Ancilee Patrick

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Powhatan, Virginia, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 721) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Strawberry Cake from Scratch

This impressive cake is rich with the flavor of real strawberries.

Dirt Cake I

Fool 'em with a fun cake that looks just like a flower pot.

Banana Cake VI

Discover the simple secret to super-moist banana cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States