Strawberry Cake from Scratch Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by Alexandraxulip
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2014
By far my favorite cake ever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Joseph Ashford
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2014
A dilemma indeed. I made this cake for my 33rd birthday, my first attempt at a real cake! And I flopped. I think I let the creamed butter and sugar wait too long, and get too soft before I added everything I was supposed to. I will reattempt soon. I also made this with a vanilla custard and chopped strawberry filling, and topped it with a lemonny meringue icing. The flavors were great but the cake rose about a quarter of an inch. Next time, I will ensure all my ingredients are at the proper temp and properly prepped.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joseph Ashford

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2014
This was very good, the cake was really moist and it had the strawberry flavor I was looking for. I frosted it with a strawberry frosting and made it for guests, and they loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbia, South Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2014
Today is my husband's 30th! I've never made Strawberry Cake, however, this is his favorite. I tried this recipe and utilized helpful suggestions from previous reviews such as separating the egg yolks and whites, using 3 three pans instead of two, and reducing the sugar. My husband loves the cake; however, I would have to agree with a lot of the other reviews. I would have liked the cake to be a bit more fluffy. It was indeed a tad dense. Oh well, the hubby loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bonita

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2014
I followed the recipe as written, split into 2 9 in round pans and 25 minutes into baking, the cakes where bubbling over the side of the pans and still very soupy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Whitney Svoboda

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2014
It was just WAY too sweet for me! The jello powder in this recipe made it too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cambridge, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2014
Made this twice in two weeks - wow!! My husband has requested it for his birthday -it was a hit!! Better with fresh strawberries I think. (Tried both) thanks for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2014
This recipe was so good, one of the best cake recipes I've found so far. I made a few changes but nothing major. Being a beginner with baking from scratch I've read that some people use pudding mix in their cakes and it helps make it moist. So I used a box of strawberry cream pudding mix that was sitting in my cabinet for months instead of buying jello mix. I also used fresh strawberries instead of frozen. It came out delicious and was gone by that night. It was a really fluffy and moist cake. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2014
I baked this cake twice. The second attempt was just as disastrous. Each time my cakes turned out like pink rubber.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by khc2219

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2014
This recipe is very helpful when it comes to in a hurry B-day cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 715) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Strawberry Cake from Scratch

This impressive cake is rich with the flavor of real strawberries.

Dirt Cake I

Fool 'em with a fun cake that looks just like a flower pot.

Banana Cake VI

Discover the simple secret to super-moist banana cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States