Strawberry Cake from Scratch Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2012
It was perfect! Layered fresh strawberry between layers and to top the cake. Everyone loved it! Every crumb was eaten in less then 24 hours (4 adults) :) Can't wait to make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ZOINKS
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2012
VERY GOOD but I used it for a checkerboard cake and the strawberry part was more moist than the yellow cake and didn't rise as much. I didn't use the whole packet of gelatin for this reason....because I didn't want that weird gelatinous consistency but it still was a tad overly moist. Very good strawberry flavor however.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2012
Delicious. Comes out moist and dense, which suits the preferences of my family. After looking through numerous reviews, I adopted these changes: Added 1/2 tsp salt; reduced sugar to 1 1/2 cups; used all purpose flour and cornstarch (2 TBSPs corn starch plus enough all purpose flour to make one cup) as I did not have cake flour; used 2 percent milk; used unsweetened fresh strawberries to make puree; used 2 9-inch cake pans; when frosting, put some raspberry preserves between the layers for a little tang! it was fabulous
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2012
I absolutely love the flavor of this cake, however, it shrinks quite a bit... too much. I assume because of the jello. If anyone has an answer for me to prevent the shrinkage, please respond.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cakemorecake
Home Town: Alhambra, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2012
The cake turned out dense for me, but it was yummy. I found that the taste even seemed to get better after a day or two. People were pleasantly with how strong the strawberry flavor was.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2012
This was a good base recipe but as other reviewers have stated, it needs a bit of salt (at least 1/2 tsp). I cut back on the sugar just a bit to about 1 1/2 cups (since the jello also has sugar in it). I also subbed 1/2 cup sour cream and 1/2 cup 2%milk because I didn't have whole milk on hand. I think you could easily sub yogurt as well. I also baked these as cupcakes and adjusted the baking time accordingly. I'm not usually one to use prepared foods but I did like the color and flavor that the jello added. So, yes, I made quite a few changes due to ingredients on hand and personal preference but all in all this is still a very good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookin Up A Storm

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fergus Falls, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2012
Fantastic! So moist and flavorful....couldn't stop eating it! I topped it with a homemade white chocolate cream cheese frosting...to die for! :o) Made just the way the recipe states, this recipe is most definitely a keeper in my books!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2012
awesome! i made this today for my daughter's birthday. it rises like normal cake-mix cakes, unlike lots of other homemade cakes. i like to add chopped strawberries to the cream cheese frosting for a pink color and real strawberry flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2012
Great flavor, beautiful color. I used this for cupcakes using another reviewers baking temp and time, and they came out PERFECT. I will definitely use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2012
This was a beautiful and tasty cake. I used the entire box of gelatin but didn't use frozen sweetened strawberries- mine were not sweetened. I found the sweetness level was perfect for me and I don't like overly sweet cakes. I added the strawberry puree in with the milk rather than adding it in at the end. Yes the cake layers were dense but it didn't detract from the taste of this cake. I baked mine in 3 9 inch cake pans instead of 2.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Swainsboro, Georgia, USA

Displaying results 91-100 (of 664) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Strawberry Cake from Scratch

This impressive cake is rich with the flavor of real strawberries.

Dirt Cake I

Fool 'em with a fun cake that looks just like a flower pot.

Banana Cake VI

Discover the simple secret to super-moist banana cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States