Strawberry Cake from Scratch Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Tenessa
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2014
This cake was great. I followed others suggestions about using only the egg whites from the eggs and adding them into the mixture at the very end. I also used fresh strawberry that I put into the freezer a couple hours before. When watching the video it said if you use fresh strawberries to add sugar to them a few hours before. I did not add sugar to the fresh strawberries and I would not recommend it. The cake was sweet enough. It only took a little slice to hit the spot. I will definitely make again but I think next time I may try adding a little less sugar. I used some of the leftover puree in between the layers of cake. I baked at 350 for 35 minutes. Just check the cake after 20 minutes. If it's not done check it every 5 minute after till tooth pick comes out clean.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2014
This cake is amazing! I've made it at least 5 times exactly as the recipe says, and it gets inhaled every time. GothicGirl, you are the woman!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2014
i tried this recipe yesterday, it was really hard??? it didn't came out the way it shows....haven't tried it yet but well see
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by espinozajuan4538

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fresno, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2014
delish...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2014
great you must try for birthday
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jackie Harris

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Alexandraxulip
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2014
By far my favorite cake ever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Joseph Ashford
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2014
A dilemma indeed. I made this cake for my 33rd birthday, my first attempt at a real cake! And I flopped. I think I let the creamed butter and sugar wait too long, and get too soft before I added everything I was supposed to. I will reattempt soon. I also made this with a vanilla custard and chopped strawberry filling, and topped it with a lemonny meringue icing. The flavors were great but the cake rose about a quarter of an inch. Next time, I will ensure all my ingredients are at the proper temp and properly prepped.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joseph Ashford

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2014
This was very good, the cake was really moist and it had the strawberry flavor I was looking for. I frosted it with a strawberry frosting and made it for guests, and they loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbia, South Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2014
Today is my husband's 30th! I've never made Strawberry Cake, however, this is his favorite. I tried this recipe and utilized helpful suggestions from previous reviews such as separating the egg yolks and whites, using 3 three pans instead of two, and reducing the sugar. My husband loves the cake; however, I would have to agree with a lot of the other reviews. I would have liked the cake to be a bit more fluffy. It was indeed a tad dense. Oh well, the hubby loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bonita

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2014
Has anyone had any issues with this cake overflowing/exploding while baking? I followed the recipe as written, split into 2 9 in round pans and 25 minutes into baking, the cakes where bubbling over the side of the pans and still very soupy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 700) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Strawberry Cake from Scratch

This impressive cake is rich with the flavor of real strawberries.

Dirt Cake I

Fool 'em with a fun cake that looks just like a flower pot.

Banana Cake VI

Discover the simple secret to super-moist banana cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States