Strawberry Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2014
Good recipe for the basic baker, i.e. me!! As with prior suggestions, I doubled the strawberries to 4 cups, used only 3/4 cup of oil and ~1/4 cup unsweetened applesauce, and used less cinnamon, ~ 1tsp. I also added ~1tsp. nutmeg. Otherwise, all ingredients used as listed. Even without putting sugar on the top, I very much enjoyed the crunchy top layer. I did bake in a bundt pan and it took an additional 25 minutes to bake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2014
Good flavor, just be sure it's cooked thoroughly for your oven
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2014
Sometimes I have too many strawberries for eating but not enouth for jam This Bread was a hit and I donate it to blood drives and can always talk my friends into coming down for some
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2014
at the grand old age of 55 I have never baked a cake or scone in my life, to my families delight they were thrilled that I gave it a go and also scored it a 5/5. sister in law wondered what a little bit of baking powder would do for it.....so I am asking you....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Deal, Kent, England, U.K.
Living In: North Shore, Auckland, New Zealand

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2014
This recipe worked out perfectly! I took others' advice and made a couple of modifications. I reduced the granulated sugar to 1 cup and added 1/2 cup of brown sugar. I tossed the berries (which I cut up into large chunks) with a couple of tablespoons granulated sugar. I added 1/2 tsp vanilla, shook in a scant amount of cinnamon, and changed the oil to all unsweetened applesauce. I also added my secret ingredient: 2/3 cup strawberry jam that adds to the taste of strawberries. I also sprinkled the top with a package of apple/cinnamon Quaker instant oatmeal. I baked them in my Pampered Chef mini loaf pan (and they rose beautifully so I'm glad I used it). It took over an hour, but they came out perfect! My son ate half a loaf shortly after they came out of the oven. I have an apple bread recipe that mixes similar to this, so I wasn't worried when I saw that it wasn't a liquidy batter. You just need to make sure you mix it together really well to get all the flour added. Will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2014
Ladies at my Book Club loved this bread (so did I)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2014
Dense moist cake. Only problem was that the cinnamon overpowered the taste and you couldn't taste the strawberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2014
My husband couldn't stop raving about this bread! I made it exactly like the recipe only cut the sugar down to 1.5 cups and even that was pretty sweet. I could have easily cut it in half and not missed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Livonia, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2014
I followed the lead from other reviews and I doubled the strawberries. I pureed 2 cups and sliced the other 2 cups. I still did not achieve a strong strawberry flavor. The bread was just ok. I really would not recommend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Prairie Village, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2014
This is a great recipe. I made a vanilla glaze and drizzled it on top of the loafs after they were cooled. I will diff make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gregg

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 739) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Strawberry Bread

A delicious bread made with fresh strawberries.

Janet's Rich Banana Bread

See how to make super-moist banana bread with concentrated banana flavor.

The Best Banana Bread

Here’s a versatile banana bread for banana bread purists.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States