Strawberry Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: May 13, 2014
This is a wonderful bread. I did make a few changes. I only used 1 1/2 C sugar I added 1 1/2 tsp. vanilla and only 3/4 C. veg oil and 3 Cups of strawberries. Also instead of two loaf pans I used one bundt pan. I used no stick cooking spay in the pan instead of butter then instead of flouring it I used powered sugar. I have a small shaker thingy with small holes that I keep powdered sugar in and it has a lid on it so I always have it handy that way I don't get flour on things that should have something sweet. I mashed up some of the strawberries to get some juice. I cooked it for about 1 hour and 10 minutes. It was really wonderful. I took a kitchen dinner knife and kinda loosened it a bit around put a dinner plate on top turned it over and poof it came out onto the plate with no problem. The nuts were great all was wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Millbrae, California, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2014
Great recipe! Followed it exactly and it came out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fdask

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2014
Very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2014
After reading several of the reviews, I decided to make a few changes. I did double the amount of strawberries; 2 cups sliced and 2 cups mashed. I also cut the sugar down to 1 1/2 cups. I added the 1/2 cup of sugar to the strawberries and let them sit while I prepared the rest of the batter; then I added the 1 cup to the batter. I cut the cinnamon down to 1/2 tbsp and added 1 tsp of vanilla extract. For the oil, I did 1 cup vegetable oil and 1/4 cup of applesauce. I omitted the pecans. I baked it at 350 degrees in bundt pan for an hour. It came out beautifully with a wonderful crust and the cake itself was moist and delicious! Huge hit! Thank you for sharing the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2014
I followed suggestions and used 4 cups of strawberries. Delicious!! Easy recipe and I will substitute seasonal fruits for the strawberries - peaches, pears, blueberries....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2014
Love, love, loved this bread! Used the recommendations in the reviews and made bread with the following adjustments: 4 cups strawberries (half pureed), 3/4 cup oil, 1 tsp. cinnamon. Came out perfect - absolutely delicious, very moist, and much lighter than I expected.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2014
This bread is so good. I had some ripe strawberries in the fridge and they were past for eating. I checked the site for a recipe and found this awesome bread. After I read reviews, I definitely decide to double the strawberry and reduce the cinnamon as everyone suggested. I diced those strawberries and set a side in a bowl. Moreover, as I don't like eating too much sugary things. I reduced 1/2 cup sugar from the original recipe so, I used only 1 1/2 cup white sugar. Plus my ripe strawberries were loosing too much juice and to make the dough less runny I reduced the oil. So, I used only 3/4 cup veggie oil in it. Actually, I came up with this solution after I read one of the reviewer so, thank you for that advise, it really worked fine for me. I baked 1 hour and it was baked perfectly. I will absolutely bake this bread again and again. Me and my hubby loved the moisturized textured bread. Thank you Ellen and reviewers made it perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2014
Very disappointing! I used raspberries instead of strawberries. Nothing else was changed. The loaf was dry and crumbly. The texture was dense but overall, not a delicious recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2014
This was delicious.i used strawberries that were very ripe.followed the recipe. I made2 loaves I froze one for a later time and 1we will eat during the week for breakfast or snack.i would make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sicklerville, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2014
Very yummy. I did add more strawberries like others recommended. I served warm with cool whip. It was my version of a fancy strawberry shortcake - that was less work to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 721) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Strawberry Bread

A delicious bread made with fresh strawberries.

Janet's Rich Banana Bread

See how to make super-moist banana bread with concentrated banana flavor.

Banana Nut Bread Baked in a Jar

See how to bake individual mini-loaves of banana bread in canning jars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States