Strawberry Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2006
This was absolutely fantastic! My husband ended up with a whole flat of strawberries from a local farm, so I was really looking for something different to use them in. This was the perfect use for them. Like some of the other reviewers, I added more strawberries (4 cups: 2-pureed and 2 sliced), cut the oil down to 3/4 cup, and only used 1.5 cups sugar since my berries were fairly ripe. I also added 1 tsp vanilla. This had a wonderful texture and flavour. I will definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
418 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy D'Orsay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Longview, Texas, USA
Living In: Sydney, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Caroline C
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2005
Thanks SO much to all the previous reviewers who provided such great tips. This turned out wonderfully! I halved the recipe to make one loaf - used 1/4 c olive oil, 1 1/2 c strawberries (I sprinkled them with sugar, then smooshed them up with my fingers), 1/2 tsp cinnamon, and 1 tbsp vanilla extract. It was perfectly cooked after 45 mins. The consistency was light, the sweetness spot-on, and the strawberry flavor was just right also. I served this warm with a little fat-free Cool Whip and a sliced strawberry garnish. Thank you, Ellen, for boosting my baking confidence!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
264 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2003
I needed to use up some strawberries and decided to give this recipe a try. It was easy to make and it turned out great! After reading the reviews, I was concerned that I didn't have enough strawberries so I added some frozen blueberries. I also cut back on the cinnamon and added a little vanilla. My family was pleased with the results. I would definitely make this again. I was feeling lazy about washing two loaf pans so I baked it in a bundt pan. It filled the pan perfectly and would look nice for company or to take to a brunch or office party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
197 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2006
I had some strawberries that most would have thrown out. They were past ripe for eating. I threw them into the food processor(there was 12 oz. berries) and put the 2 cups of sugar in and let it spin and set for a while. I also threw a half of a tangerine rind into the processor as well. I decreased the oil as suggested to 3/4 cup and decreased the cinnamon to 1/2 tbsp. Added 1 tsp. vanilla extract. This bread was perfect! The flavor of the strawberry, spice, and tangerine essence gave it such a nice spark. Took this to a meeting at work and everyone raved. I also made some cream cheese spread w/ 8 oz. cream cheese, 10x sugar to sweeten, and grated lemon rind. It complimented this very nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
108 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TUNISIANSWIFE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: King Ferry, New York, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Celeste
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2007
Very good, although with the recipe as is you can't taste the strawberries. Next time I will double the strawberries, blend in half with juice, and fold in the other half right before the batter goes in the pans. I used 1/2 c. less sugar and it was very good, I also used the sugar from the 1 1/2 cups to sprinkle over the strawberries, otherwise the bread may be too sweet. I baked mine for 1 hour and it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
105 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Celeste

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Helena, California, USA
Living In: Santa Rosa, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2003
Makes a sweet, moist, dense bread. I used fresh strawberries at the peak of ripeness, and was disappointed that the bread didn't have a stronger strawberry taste. The predominant flavor was that of cinnamon. If I were to make this recipe again, I would increase the strawberries - perhaps to 3C - and I would decrease the cinnamon. Additionally, I would consider dicing the strawberries instead of slicing them (or slicing them thicker) so that chunks of fruit would be visible when slicing the bread - like one would see in a blueberry or cranberry bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
92 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Longmont, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2002
Great recipe, especially if you have a lot of fresh stawberries to use up. I doubled the strawberries to four cups and cooked in it one bundt pan instead of two loaves. I cooked it about an extra twenty minutes on top of the fifty, checking until knife inserted comes out clean. Everyone loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
80 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2003
Excellent! I used 4 cups of strawberries and halfed the amount of cinnamon as suggested. I also substituted 1/2 the amount of oil with unsweeten applesauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GodivaGirl
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2008
AWESOME!!! I mean the cinnamon really gives this bread a great taste! I would rate this higher than 5 stars if I could!!! I halved this recipe and used 2 mini loaf pans. I cut the sugar back by 1/4 cup and it still pretty sweet. Baked for 38 minutes. The bottom was a little browner than I liked but had to get the middle cooked. Make sure you grease the pan well cause the berries in the batter can stick in the pan. I didn't get to try the bread until the next morning after it was in the fridge...really great flavor! This goes to the top of my yearly strawberry recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GodivaGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2010
As I made this I never thought I'd like it - the batter seemed like one, big grease wad. As it baked, I still thought I wouldn't like it - it was a wimpy loaf, not tall enough, even tho' I baked it in an 8x4" loaf pan rather than the 9x5." When I tested it (several times!) to see if it was done, I knew I wouldn't like it - it took forever for the inside to get done, while the outside just kept on cookin.' As I cut it, and it didn't always want to stay in neat slices, I thought it was a gone-er. I asked Hubs to taste it - he doesn't like bread or muffins. He gave it 5 stars. He said it's moist and flavorful on the inside, crunchy on the outside. Can taste both the strawberries and the cinnamon. As he was giving me his remarks he ate two, good-sized pieces.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 715) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Strawberry Bread

A delicious bread made with fresh strawberries.

Janet's Rich Banana Bread

See how to make super-moist banana bread with concentrated banana flavor.

Banana Nut Bread Baked in a Jar

See how to bake individual mini-loaves of banana bread in canning jars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States