Spooky Witches' Fingers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2008
i have been making these treats for the past 10 years or so! i saw martha stewart making them on her show - she called them "severed fingers" and use her recipe (recipe varies). i just loved reading the reviews! this halloween i will use this recipe and follow other member's advice and make them green and w/chocolate chip "warts"! for the fingernails, i usually blanche the almonds - put in boiling water for 1 minute or so and then drain. when slightly cooled you can pop off the almond skin. when the blanched almonds are dry simply "paint" with red food coloring! use beaten egg white to brush over entire finger and to stick the finger nail on. hmmm - this just gave me an idea! i think i'll paint designs on the nails w/food coloring pens! thanks in advance for the new recipe and inspiration!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
82 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by iluvpickles

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Makakilo, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2008
These were sooo much fun at last year's Halloween party. Make sure to chill the dough and add green food coloring to the cookie dough. I also used raspberry and strawberry jam on some of the cookies and the red food coloring on the rest. The jam "blood" tasted better and still yielded the desired effect. What a fun recipe. I'm making these again this year...Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Living In: New Braunfels, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2008
These cookies look great for Halloween and they taste good too! I brush a little red food gel over the "nails" and let it ooze down around the edges for a nice bloody look. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: May 29, 2008
I made these for the first time last Halloween, sent them to college students and they loved them! They told me they were the cutest things they had ever seen. Taste of the cookie was a 4 but the appearance a 10! I sliced mine down the middle and added some red gel to the inside then pinced it together and when you bite into them it looks like blood inside. I used sliced almonds for the fingernails and added small "cracks" with a knife for the knuckles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2008
This is it! This is the 'butter cookie" tasting recipe I have been looking for! I was reading through the reviews and had noticed a few didn't think these were sweet enough, so I had tried to substitue a sugar cookie recipe molded into the fingers....It does NOT work! These aren't really a 'sugar' cookie, as mentioned before it is more like a butter cookie. They have great texture and taste. A bit time consuming to make the fingers, but they are grossly awesome! I made 'stiches' on the fingers with chocolate srpinkles. Very cute! I can't wait to do this recipe for christmas! (Not in the finger mold of course!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bizzymomma

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Trisha
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2008
I LOVE THESE!! One person talked about warts, so I tried to make some. Another person made them green, I loved that idea. So I had to try, this is what mine turned out like. Otherwise I followed the recipe to a T. The mice are cake balls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
104 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trisha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2008
Easy to make! The kids and the adults loved them. Rolled them using my fingers- my knuckles naturally made the witch knuckles. The red decorating gel is a must. I added green food coloring but didn't mix it completely up so it gave a swirly green effect- very cool.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2008
Good recipe, but you can use the refrigerated bread sticks. I tinted melted butter with green food coloring and brushed the fingers. Also, I soaked the almonds in a little red food coloring with a touch of vegetable oil in place of gel.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by go away

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LuvChanSe
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2008
i used the recipe to make Creepy Crawly too!!!! See photo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LuvChanSe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Largo, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2008
5 as far as looks go for sure. This is the same recipe I have from my "Taste of Home Halloween" 2005 magazine. Doesn't taste all that great but they look pretty creepy. I've not ever colored them so i'll give that a try this year for sure =]
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anesia

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 655) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Spooky Witches' Fingers

See how to make scary-good Halloween cookies that look like witches’ fingers.

Witches' Hats

Turn fudge-striped cookies and chocolate kisses into pointy witches’ hats!

Apple Squares

Apples, nuts, and cinnamon make an amazing dessert or breakfast treat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States