Spooky Witches' Fingers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2012
Used green food dye and added the warts. They were a major hit. Next time I will use blanched almonds for a more realistic nail look. Cookie flavor was good but not great. Probably could do with any butter cookie recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2012
Easy to make and great presentation. Lots of compliments
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kerrville, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2012
Very cute idea and easy to make. They were very well received. Sadly, they are tasteless and bland. They are almost a shortbread cookie but less sweet. My advice is to add more sugar otherwise it will taste like a flour cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2012
This recipe TASTED pretty good, but it LOOKED especially great, and was actually quite simple!! I did modify a little bit, however I followed the recipe's ingredients to a T.....1.) Added the green food coloring, which worked out fantastically. 2.) I also added warts to the fingers, however I did this by just rolling up itty-bitty pieces of the dough and sticking them onto the fingers before I put them in the oven (doing it this way made the warts look a lot more realistic). 3.) I used sliced almonds to make the nail part look thin and, again, more realistic...that also turned out great. 4.) Baked for only 20min and the cookies came out really moist. I'm definitely going to reuse this recipe for other "normal" cookies. I think it would taste great with a confectioners sugar frosting/glaze on top! The ONLY criticism I have is what others have pointed out....a TINY bit too salty. I would cut the salt to 1/2tsp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2012
I added a little extra sugar. The cookie itself was not sweet enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2012
Great idea and looked great! Like the texture (shortbread) but not sweet enough for this household.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 4in4mom

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2012
They looked really good when I saw them, and when I ate them. They were really good for my son's sleepover party. I had to make more so this time I did the same as Laura M did, I added the green food coloring to the dough, looked like realy witch fingers! These are going to be made again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2012
The only thing missing is the black plastic "spider" rings!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Meridian, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2012
it was Delicious but i don't know what i did wrong because they fell flat in the oven so my advice is follow the instructions and don't use whole wheat
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sniper0
Home Town: Orem, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2012
I made these last year and this year and I think they are awesome to see as well as eat; I should know as I ate most of them and had to make more. I used blanched almond slices and put them on before going in oven and used some of the broken ones to look like broken nails and when came out of oven they looked like old yucky nails with a little red gel around edges to look as if were bleeding around them. Thank you; this is a good recipe for any holiday; just shape differently.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Zelque
Living In: Clarksville, Tennessee, USA

Displaying results 81-90 (of 644) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spooky Witches' Fingers

See how to make scary-good Halloween cookies that look like witches’ fingers.

Witches' Hats

Turn fudge-striped cookies and chocolate kisses into pointy witches’ hats!

Snickerdoodles I

These classic, top-rated snickerdoodles are rolled in cinnamon sugar.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States