Spooky Witches' Fingers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by Julie
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2013
These turned out fabulously but our first batch didn't keep their shape and spread out too much. The two keys to success I found were to keep the batter really cold and roll out the fingers thin. Once we did that, the fingers kept their shape quit well. I added 1/2 cup of sugar and used 2 tsp of almond extract instead of vanilla extract.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2013
ADORABLE! MADE THESE FOR A HALLOWEEN PARTY AND THEY WERE A HIT!! THEY ARE AS TASTY AS THEY ARE CUTE!! VERY FUN TO MAKE!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missrochester

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2013
I made them just now. Even if the dough was in the freezer for over an hour, the dough would get super sticky when i rolled it into a ball. I had to cut them like biscotti. I had to raise the temperature to 200'C and yet they still pretty much melted. They're kinda sandy as you eat and a bit greasy. Rating only 3 because of the look, otherwise they're delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2013
Just finished the cookies. Followed the recipe exactly as written, only thing I did different was instead of a whole almond for the finger nails,I used sliced almonds. awesome cookie. thank-you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2013
followed directions. cookies went flat,no shape.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2013
These taste great. I made them for a Halloween party and as someone else mentioned, added green food coloring. I also did some red icing on the ends. They were a big hit but some of the kids would not try them because they looked too real :-) I didn't add them but mini chocolate chips would make good warts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mayette
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2013
I just made them now and it's good! It's so easy to handle. I followed the suggestion of some...to make it like your pinkies only since it'll get big. Just the right size I wanted. And I made some changes to it. I didn't add almond extract but instead added some lime zest since I ran out of lemons. I think I'll add more zest next time. So far it's good....but, EEEEEW!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Shearone
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2013
Because I knew there was a strong possibility there would be someone that would have a nut allergy, I left off the almonds on the fingertips. Instead, I used strawberry fruit rolls and cut the fingernails with a small cookie cutter. I did not use the addition of red decorating gel around the knuckles or fingertips as this can be upsetting to the little ghosts. I did melt a few chocolate chips and used a toothpick to make the indentations on the knuckles. I used the Wilton Witches Finger Cookie Molds and followed the recipe with the exception of adding 2 3/4 cups of flour. Fun recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shearone

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2013
My 5yo niece and I made these yesterday and had a blast! Added green food color to about half the dough. The green fingers had almond fingernails and on the white fingers we used green pistachios for the fingernails. Followed the recipe as posted and the cookies were extremely salty (otherwise I would have given 5 stars!). If you use salted butter, cut the salt to 1/4-1/2 teaspoon. Unsalted butter should be fine with 3/4 to 1 teaspoon of salt though. I also noticed comments after the fact about rolling the cookies smaller because they expand when they bake. We actually ended up with large ogre-like fingers but they were still good! Will definitely make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by admoore72

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2013
This was great, I added 1/2 sugar to make it sweeter and I also used black icing to set the almond and paint the nails with a make-up brush, after baking. my baking powder may have been old because they didn't grow much. I used a fork to shred the end and applied drops of red food coloring to make it look severed. My kids think they are awesome! I kept the batter in the fridge overnight, definitely made rolling the fingers out easier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 643) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Spooky Witches' Fingers

See how to make scary-good Halloween cookies that look like witches’ fingers.

Witches' Hats

Turn fudge-striped cookies and chocolate kisses into pointy witches’ hats!

Snickerdoodles I

These classic, top-rated snickerdoodles are rolled in cinnamon sugar.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States