Spooky Witches' Fingers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2013
I've made this recipe the last 2 years as is, and has been a hit both at family parties and at work. For an additional creepy factor, I took some slivered almonds, and pushed one or two of them halfway into the end of the finger opposite the "nail".This makes the fingers look like the severed, cracked bones are sticking out of the end. Really effective when you add the red food coloring to give it the appearance of blood. I appreciate the tip of gluing the almond to the end with a bit of jam, since some of my "fingernails" came off when it came time to present and serve the cookies. I will try that tirick next time I make these. Great recipe, so glad I found this! :-) :-) :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2013
These cookies were a hit! One person said they were too neat to eat. Another told me how creative I was. They were really simple to make. I added the mini chocolate chips for warts and green food coloring too. Just remember to make them the size of your pinky finger and maybe add a tad more sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2013
I tried this recipe and then made a few adjustments. I used Slivered Sugared Almonds from Trader Joe's for the nail and used heated up Raspberry Jam that I dipped the end of the cookies into! Improved the recipe greatly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2013
I used almond flavor and yum they got a bit hard and puffy if that makes sense. Def. Need the jam. Nice treat once a year. Fun to make and i made the fingers green.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by thecritic

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2013
Very good! but mine spread too much to be perfect spooky fingers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2013
1 tsp salt is too much. Next time I'll use just a pinch. Very cute idea, but a little too time consuming for me
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2013
I made these for an adult Halloween party, and instead of red icing, I used seedless raspberry jam. I added a dab on each 'nail bed' and then put a split-in-half almond on top of the jam, letting it ooze out around the nail. I also put some at the bottom 'cut' end of the finger. I used double the vanilla extract since I didn't have almond. They are delicious and eerie-looking! The jam turns brownish-red like blood, and jam tastes better (to me) than decorator icing. These are easy and delicious, I'll make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kellacious1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Streator, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2013
I made these as written. They are a good flavored cookie, not sweet. Even though it seems that a teaspoon of dough would not be enough, they get a lot bigger around when you cook them. I made mine too big and had giant monster fingers. I used sliced almonds for the fingernails. They break easy so be careful "installing " them. I used strawberry jam to glue them on instead of using the red gel. Don't like that fake stuff. it still looked good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Muncie, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by laureen75
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2013
Been making these for years. I think it's a shortbread cookie, rather than a sugar cookie. Few tips: 2 3/4 c flour helps them spread less and works much better. If you want them to really look like fingers you must roll them very skinny. Sliced almonds look much better and more realistic. You can put knuckle lines in the lower middle and upper finger area for a more realistic look as well as pinching the same areas first to create an actual boney knuckle. These tips make these look so realistic people often don't want to eat them! But they do :) I'm asked every year to make these! I was finally able to upload a photo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2013
I tried this recipe for the first time last night for our Halloween Dessert Contest at work today. Watching the demo was very helpful and I took the suggestions to refrigerate the cookies themselves for 10-15 minutes before baking and to rotate the cookie sheets halfway through the baking process. I agree that the dough must be very chilled to roll out and keep its shape. I would recommend checking the cookies at 20 minutes because I kept mine in for 22 and I think it was a bit too long. I would also add less salt and a bit more sugar. Be very careful when putting in the red gel because the cookies are delicate and can break easily. I made half green batter using food coloring. The cookies came out great and I love the almond taste. Reminds me of my grandma's butter twist cookies that we used to dunk in coffee! I am presenting the cookies on a skeleton plate with a plastic spider wine glass filled with strawberry spread with some fingers sticking out. Maybe next time I will use sliced almonds and some black gel along with the red and shred the ends of the fingers like some reviewers suggested. The possibilites are endless! These are really yummy cookies with a ghoulish touch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 656) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Spooky Witches' Fingers

See how to make scary-good Halloween cookies that look like witches’ fingers.

Witches' Hats

Turn fudge-striped cookies and chocolate kisses into pointy witches’ hats!

Apple Squares

Apples, nuts, and cinnamon make an amazing dessert or breakfast treat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States