Spooky Witches' Fingers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2013
I used almond flavor and yum they got a bit hard and puffy if that makes sense. Def. Need the jam. Nice treat once a year. Fun to make and i made the fingers green.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by thecritic

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2013
Very good! but they spread too much to be perfect spooky fingers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2013
1 tsp salt is too much. Next time I'll use just a pinch. Very cute idea, but a little too time consuming for me
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2013
I made these for an adult Halloween party, and instead of red icing, I used seedless raspberry jam. I added a dab on each 'nail bed' and then put a split-in-half almond on top of the jam, letting it ooze out around the nail. I also put some at the bottom 'cut' end of the finger. I used double the vanilla extract since I didn't have almond. They are delicious and eerie-looking! The jam turns brownish-red like blood, and jam tastes better (to me) than decorator icing. These are easy and delicious, I'll make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kellacious1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Streator, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2013
I made these as written. They are a good flavored cookie, not sweet. Even though it seems that a teaspoon of dough would not be enough, they get a lot bigger around when you cook them. I made mine too big and had giant monster fingers. I used sliced almonds for the fingernails. They break easy so be careful "installing " them. I used strawberry jam to glue them on instead of using the red gel. Don't like that fake stuff. it still looked good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Muncie, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by laureen75
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2013
Been making these for years. I think it's a shortbread cookie, rather than a sugar cookie. Few tips: 2 3/4 c flour helps them spread less and works much better. If you want them to really look like fingers you must roll them very skinny. Sliced almonds look much better and more realistic. You can put knuckle lines in the lower middle and upper finger area for a more realistic look as well as pinching the same areas first to create an actual boney knuckle. These tips make these look so realistic people often don't want to eat them! But they do :) I'm asked every year to make these! I was finally able to upload a photo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2013
I tried this recipe for the first time last night for our Halloween Dessert Contest at work today. Watching the demo was very helpful and I took the suggestions to refrigerate the cookies themselves for 10-15 minutes before baking and to rotate the cookie sheets halfway through the baking process. I agree that the dough must be very chilled to roll out and keep its shape. I would recommend checking the cookies at 20 minutes because I kept mine in for 22 and I think it was a bit too long. I would also add less salt and a bit more sugar. Be very careful when putting in the red gel because the cookies are delicate and can break easily. I made half green batter using food coloring. The cookies came out great and I love the almond taste. Reminds me of my grandma's butter twist cookies that we used to dunk in coffee! I am presenting the cookies on a skeleton plate with a plastic spider wine glass filled with strawberry spread with some fingers sticking out. Maybe next time I will use sliced almonds and some black gel along with the red and shred the ends of the fingers like some reviewers suggested. The possibilites are endless! These are really yummy cookies with a ghoulish touch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2013
I made these today and they turned out amazing! I just wouldn't add the gel. I used strawberry jam instead. Love them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2013
The cute factor put these over the top. I liked the taste of the cookies, but I have a recipe that I actually like better that I think I will use next time. That said, the final product was REALLY cute! I put a drop of green food coloring (everyone knows witches have a green pallor to their skin), and used the red jel under the "fingernail" and on the "severed" end of the fingers. Everyone was a bit taken aback at first and then they laughed. No one refused to eat them. Great for a party!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dinner Date

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2013
The dough was really sticky and hard to roll. They also had no flavor very bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Biloxi, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 643) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spooky Witches' Fingers

See how to make scary-good Halloween cookies that look like witches’ fingers.

Witches' Hats

Turn fudge-striped cookies and chocolate kisses into pointy witches’ hats!

Snickerdoodles I

These classic, top-rated snickerdoodles are rolled in cinnamon sugar.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States