Spinach and Strawberry Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2003
This is the BEST salad ever but after making it a few times I will say that you can do all these variations and it will be terrific but do NOT put the dressing into the fridge, leave it on the counter! It will not be good, it will get creamy and stay on the salad like PASTE. You can get the spinach (baby spinach is the best) and slice the strawberries with an egg slicer and toss ahead, in the fridge...but let the dressing sit on the counter, trust me. Then toss immediately before eating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1460 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kerre Gadoury

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2003
We loved this salad. I made it twice this weekend. I added candied sliced almonds... just add almond slices to a frying pan and lightly sugar the almonds, add a few drops of water to this slowly and let it cook for a few minutes.. caramelizes to a crisp, sweet. Very hot, be careful. I also added the blue cheese, mentioned by other readers. also..instead of using all that sugar, I substituted some honey for the sugar instead, which helped the dressing stick to the salad
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
602 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2002
Just made this salad for a dinner party and it was a huge hit! I will make this salad all the time now. I also halved the sugar like others recommended and substituted Raspberry Balsamic Vinegar for White Vinegar. Also, left out the seeds(I couldn't find them in the store) and used sliced almonds. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
437 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2003
Excellent Salad that brought rave reviews. Per others suggestions, I decreased the sugar by half. I only had red wine vinegar, so I used that. Dressing was tasty with just the right amount of sweetness for the salad. I served the dressing on the side. I added mandarin oranges, red onion and pecans!!!! Great salad!!!! Thanks Jerry. Update: I tried the dressing with the raspberry balsamic vinegar and it was wonderful. I did increase the vinegar to a half cup and reduced the sugar in half. I think it could have used more sugar, but it was still a wonderful dressing and salad. I continue to add mandarin oranges, pecans and red onions. Great Salad!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
314 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2003
I have made this for years and it is always a huge hit. For the dressing I use 1/4 cup oil, 2 T. sugar, 2 T. vinegar, 1/2 t. salt, and ground red pepper to taste. I often add mandarin oranges and fresh blueberries. Sugared almonds are a great addition as well. Great with grilled steaks and chicken. Thanks for all the great ideas for other variations!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
276 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2007
I hate to be the critic... But I'm going to be completely honest. The taste was a 4 star, but I could only eat a few bites of this salad. I followed the recipe exactly. First, it wasn't until I got into the recipe that I realized that this recipe took everything that was healthy about raw spinach and strawberries and turned it into a complete heart attack equating to McDonald's food on a bad day. Literally, you are putting 1 full cup of super high fat oil mixed with sugar all over some healthy raw spinach and good healthy sweet fruit. Normally when I eat spinach salad, which is daily, I can eat a full plate of raw spinach with about 2 teaspoons of Italian dressing. The whole thing is under 200 calories. This recipe is immensely high fat and high sugar. Anyhow, I could only eat about 4 bites until I felt like "ugg". I'm laying back now with my sugar rush feeling bad. If I eat plain raw spinach with Italian, I feel like a million bucks. I would highly consider re-doing this recipe. The strawberries are a very nice touch, but all the sugar is a nightmare. This is my opinion, and I do feel that we as a society eat way too much sugar. This recipe is an example of how something very healthy is turned into a completely unhealthy meal. I'm sorry, but I did think the flavor itself is 4 to 5 stars, but then again, oil + sugar taste good with anything. Just like fried anything tastes good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
170 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2001
This is an excellent salad. Instead of regular vinegar I tried Balsamic vinegar and it turned out fantastic. Also the recipe doesn't tell you to let the dressing refrigerate before serving. That is necessary to blend the flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
156 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2003
Not what I expected at all! Even my boyfriend, who was making faces the entire time I made this, liked it. I used half the sugar, red wine vinegar instead of white wine vinegar and added red onions and pecans. I will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
119 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lizzie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Efland, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2003
Excellent salad - light and delicious. I forgot to add the sesame and poopy seeds and it was still great. Sounds funky but everyone loved it and wanted the recipe. Great recipe for kids as they scarf it right up and don't realize it's good for them! *** Spinach leaves wllt quickly so make it as close to serving as possible! ***
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
108 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hollister, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2003
A friend introduced us to this about a year ago, and I use variations on this recipe all the time to "wow!" guests. In addition to the recipe shown here, I've mixed the baby spinach and salad dressing with fresh mandarin oranges and toasted almonds - a nice classy dish to cut the taste of an accompanying spicy meal. This is a sure-fire winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
105 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,184) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Strawberry Spinach Salad I

This bright and tangy salad is sweet and savory, and just delicious.

Spinach and Strawberry Salad

Mix the colors and flavors of summer and enjoy.

Jamie’s Cranberry Spinach Salad

Make a healthy spinach salad with a tangy, tasty vinaigrette.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States