Spicy Refrigerator Dill Pickles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2011
Loved this recipe!!! These were so fun to make, and were super delicious!!!! The only thing I need to change is the quantity! Next time I'll make way more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2011
I love these!!!I didn't have fresh dill, used dry. Also, not necessary to presoak the cucumbers in the brine. I just prepped my jars, added cucumber spears, threw in some whole peppercorns into each jar (about 1 tsp. per jar.) Added 1 tsp. chopped garlic to each jar, 1 tsp. red pepper flakes to each jar. Then pour vinegar,salt and sugar solution into each jar. The other reviewers are correct, cut the sugar down to 1/4 cup or they are too much like bread and butter pickles....I wanted mine to be more like claussen and they were! Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2011
Good taste, but they didn't stay crispy after the full 10 days - I actually liked them better when I sampled one on day 5. I would also tie up the spices in a cheesecloth or coffee filter next time to keep them from floating around.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2011
I love these pickles! Did cut the sugar amount in half though, and they still have an initial sweet tang at first bite. So easy and so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2011
Too sweet (even though I only put in 1/2 the sugar from the recipe) and too much vinegar. Not enough salt for my palette. Good base though - just needed less vinegar and more salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2011
My first attempt at pickles! They were good, but next time I make them I'll adjust a little to fit my preferences. I'll cut way back on the sugar and add more heat. Thanks for sharing! Very crispy and tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Minnesota_Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2011
Be sure to read the reviews....use less sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2011
I have made refrigerator pickles for years (only sweet pickles) but I wanted dills as well. I made this recipe and followed it to a T - and although the flavor was right on - the pickles were mushy and falling apart. No crispy or crunchy here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2011
Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2011
Wonderful...After reading the reviews I only put in 1 Tablepsoon of Sugar and I didn't chop the dill weed up. I also didn't use dill seed. AND I sliced my cucumbers up so they'd be chips instead of spears.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kasi

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 81-90 (of 175) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Deep-Fried Dill Pickles

Batter up your dills, and fry them to a deliciously crispy, golden-brown.

Chef John's Bread and Butter Pickles

See how to make easy bread and butter pickles from scratch.

How to Make Bread and Butter Pickles

Add crunch to your lunch with your own homemade pickles.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States