Spicy Refrigerator Dill Pickles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2012
Doesn't anyone think this recipe calls for an unusual lot of fresh dill? I just chopped up a large pkg of dill, and I got 1/4 cup after taking a few springs out for the jars. At this rate I need 5-6 pkgs to yield 1 1/2 cups, and they are $3 each. After buying the cukes, I figure my homemade pickles will be ~$2 each--each pickle, not each jar! Even if I sub dry for fresh, that would be 3/4 cup dried--several bottles. I looked at other recipes for dill pickles, and they don't call for anywhere near this much dill. I'm going to try this recipe but with far less dill. I'm rating 4 stars because I can't send this without giving it a rating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2012
These were OK, too many strange flavors going on for me. I like regular spicy dills.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2012
WOW! I have NEVER done pickles before and this was easy and wonderful! I like dill pickles and wanted to do it without the canning processes. I had too many cucumbers from my garden and a neighbors (both pickling and burpless) and I just mixed them all up (can't tell the difference) with some jars of spears and some of sliced. I doubled the brine per other reviews and omitted garlic and red pepper, halved the sugar and added celery seed and a few shakes of alum to the brine. I couldn't find fresh dill so just used jarred dill weed. After 3 days, I dug into one of the jars of the sliced and ended up eating the whole thing in 2 days. I will make these again and again and give them as gifts all summer long. I also liked that this fits our healthy lifestyle perfectly! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2012
OMG!!! Absolutely perfect... I soaked my cuc's in an ice bath in the fridge for 24 hours, lightened up on the sugar, added fresh garden jalapenos and of course more garlic and fresh dill.. Could only wait 5 of the 7 days or should I say my family could only wait.. And they were absolutely delicious.. Can't believe I finally found a crunchy yummy recipe that my family likes, thank you so much....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2012
Absolutely amazing. I will never ever ever eat store bought pickles again. I halved the amount of cucumbers and doubled the brine since it's just me and my husband. I also cut the sugar and added sliced white onions and fresh jalapenos. They turned out perfect! I'm already on my third batch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle McCormick

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plano, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2012
Very good and easy! Crunchy and flavorful. Next time I will omit the sugar though. I cut the sugar in half and they we still a bit too sweet for me. Plus, be careful with the red pepper flakes- alittle goes a long way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2012
These pickles were SO easy to put together and are absolutely delicious. I have tried at least 4 other recipes in search of the perfect dill pickle, when I made these I omitted the sugar completely and they turned out exactly as I was wanting them too. This is definitely a go-to recipe from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gilbert, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2012
These are easy and fantastic!! I make them all the time. I follow the recipe as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2011
Not what I expected, don't think I'll do this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
works well. 5 days in fridge is perfect. more than 2 weeks gets soggy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 158) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Deep-Fried Dill Pickles

Batter up your dills, and fry them to a deliciously crispy, golden-brown.

Pickled Grilled Pickles

See how to pickle grilled cucumbers and red peppers.

Maple Dill Carrots

See how to make sweet and savory sautéed carrots in the skillet.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States