Spicy Refrigerator Dill Pickles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2011
Good taste, but they didn't stay crispy after the full 10 days - I actually liked them better when I sampled one on day 5. I would also tie up the spices in a cheesecloth or coffee filter next time to keep them from floating around.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2011
I love these pickles! Did cut the sugar amount in half though, and they still have an initial sweet tang at first bite. So easy and so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2011
Too sweet (even though I only put in 1/2 the sugar from the recipe) and too much vinegar. Not enough salt for my palette. Good base though - just needed less vinegar and more salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2011
My first attempt at pickles! They were good, but next time I make them I'll adjust a little to fit my preferences. I'll cut way back on the sugar and add more heat. Thanks for sharing! Very crispy and tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Minnesota_Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2011
Be sure to read the reviews....use less sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2011
I have made refrigerator pickles for years (only sweet pickles) but I wanted dills as well. I made this recipe and followed it to a T - and although the flavor was right on - the pickles were mushy and falling apart. No crispy or crunchy here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2011
Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2011
Wonderful...After reading the reviews I only put in 1 Tablepsoon of Sugar and I didn't chop the dill weed up. I also didn't use dill seed. AND I sliced my cucumbers up so they'd be chips instead of spears.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kasi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2011
Delish!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2011
Wow, I had everything on hand to make these, including freshly picked pickling cucumbers! After reading the other reviews, the only change I made was cutting the sugar in half. It's only been 5 days, and like the other reviewers, I just couldn't wait to taste them. Incredibly awesome! Absolutely love them, but even with the sugar cut in half, I can still taste a slight sweetness. Next time, ( this weekend, bumper crop!) I will use slightly less than half of the sugar, seeking perfection! It's all just a matter of taste, but I really don't like any kind of sweet pickles, I love garlicky, vinegar pickles. Thank you so much for sharing the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Nicholson, Georgia, USA

Displaying results 81-90 (of 173) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Deep-Fried Dill Pickles

Batter up your dills, and fry them to a deliciously crispy, golden-brown.

Chef John's Bread and Butter Pickles

See how to make easy bread and butter pickles from scratch.

How to Make Bread and Butter Pickles

Add crunch to your lunch with your own homemade pickles.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States