Spicy Refrigerator Dill Pickles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2013
Made these for my boyfriend and he loved them! I made enough for 3 Mason jars. We tried to make one "extra spicy" with more jalapeños in the jar, but it didn't really seem to make a difference in the end. Good spice with a nice mix of sweetness. We wound up using about 1/2 the number of cucumbers called for but the same amount of brine as the recipe said.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2013
Seriously amazing! I made two jars of these pickles earlier this week. I cut back on the sugar a bit, and also added some whole garlic cloves to the jar. After 3 days the flavor was fantastic and I ate half a jar. :) I refilled the jar with new cucumbers and i'm waiting to see how they turn out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2013
these were just ok, for me. I don't really care for the vinegar taste. and the dill weed is kinda messy. I think you could just use dill seed, and get a better dill taste. but I won't be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karla Minor

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Canby, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2013
Think this is my favorite. Every year I forget to save my favorite recipes and every year I do something different. I won't forget this year. Perfect balance of flavors with just a hint of heat at the end. We all loved this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2013
I took some of the reviewers advice and cut the sugar back to 1 Tablespoon per batch of brine. Big mistake. The pickles are so sour and vinegary that we cannot eat them. I am opening the lids now and dumping sugar into each jar in the hope that I can save them. As they are now I have to throw them out. My advice is to follow the recipe as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LadybugBates
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2013
I love this recipe and so do my family and friends. It says to eat the pickles in a month but I've found they stay good for months. I always add more garlic and peppers but I like really spicy pickles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2013
My husband has yet to taste anything too hot, so I quadrupled the crushed red pepper flakes and seeded and quartered two jalapeno peppers for each jar and omitted the sugar. I cut the cucumbers in quarters and we waited a week to try them. They stay so nice and crunchy. I'll keep a few jars in the fridge year 'round as long as the cukes are available.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2013
These are the best fridge pickles I have ever made. Just spicy enough with a touch of sweet at the end. I think using fresh, good garlic is key. I followed this recipe exactly and could not be happier with the result. All of my family and friends are asking for these pickles now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2013
I made a batch of these, but since we don't like sweet pickles, I just left out the sugar entirely. I also used fresh jalapeno peppers sliced up in place of the red pepper flakes (a friend gave me a bunch from her garden and I didn't know what to do with them). My husband LOVED them! I thought they were pretty good, but the pickling spice was even a bit too sweet for my taste. I prefer more of a tangy, garlicky pickle and the pickling spice has too much of a cinnamon flavor. I'm masking another batch with more garlic and no pickling spice. We'll see how that goes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jamie Budak

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Michigan City, Indiana, USA
Living In: La Porte, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2013
I just made these yesterday...I couldn't wait the week to try them so I just did. OMG!! They are perfect! This is a recipe that I will use every year from now on! I used half the sugar called for and doubled the brine as some others suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 181) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Refrigerator Dill Pickles

A quick and easy way to make dill pickles at home.

Deep-Fried Dill Pickles

Batter up your dills, and fry them to a deliciously crispy, golden-brown.

Chef John's Bread and Butter Pickles

See how to make easy bread and butter pickles from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States