Speedy Homemade Salsa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2010
This is the perfect salsa because it can be tweaked so well. We like cilantro, so I use the whole bunch of cilantro leaves, 2 jalapenos - I remove the seeds and membrane, which is where the heat comes from , from 1 of the peppers, which leaves it plenty hot. I too used lime juice instead of vinegar. I also didn't drain the tomatoes. This time I was out of cumin, so had to leave it out. Still turned out great. One other thing - if you are putting this into your food processor, you do not need to chop or mince anything. I processed everthing but the tomatoes, added them last, pulsed it until they were just blended in but still chunky.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debi Blair McGinness

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Akron, Ohio, USA
Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2010
I didn't use a food processor. EXCELLENT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2010
This was great! We live Dallas and have many meals that involve salsa so we usually have some in reserve - panicked tonight when I couldn't find any and this was so good I think I'm going to start making this recipe instead of buying store-bought!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WOLFECOOKIE

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2010
My family loved this recipe. I added some lime juice and used red wine vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2010
Finally, we have a winner! Next time try 1/2 teaspoon of salt instead of 1/4, and split the cider with fresh lime juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Scotdog
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2010
Excellent & easy. I adjusted the spices to my families tastes. We love cilantro & I have a bunch of it so I put way more in. Didn't have the white onion so I used more red. Used lime, but still added a bit of the apple cider vinegar. Really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scotdog

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2010
mmm, mmm, good... I doubled the recipe and... used 2 lbs of plum tomatoes (no salt) instead of canned, (hand chopped, no food processor, changing that tomorrow) all red onion, no white/yellow used the ribs from on jalapeno (no seeds) for a bit more bite balsamic vinegar instead of cider splash of raspberry balsamic vinegar 1-2 tablespoon lemon or lime juice on mango, next time two, mmm, mmm, good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lucky Noodles
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2010
I was a little skeptical about the color being a little "brown" but the taste is awesome with perfect heat for us! Thanks Sarah!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lucky Noodles

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hanover, Indiana, USA
Living In: Noblesville, Indiana, USA
Photo by zanesmom06
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2010
This is super good & very easy to make! I don't like my salsa chunky, so I ran my through the processor a little longer & I added a little extra garlic. I used fire roasted diced tomatoes w/ garlic, fresh squeezed lime instead of vinegar & I also used canned jalapeno peppers. Can't wait for my hubby to get home to share it with him...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by zanesmom06

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Geneva, Ohio, USA
Living In: Jefferson, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2010
The salsa is very good! It is definitely a base that can be altered to satisfy anyone's taste. I think next time I may add a bit of lime juice, a little hot sauce, drained black beans, sweet corn kernels, and maybe a tiny bit of sugar or crushed pineapple to break up some of the heat and acidity. I love how quick it is to put together and how versatile it is! Thank you for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vagriffs5

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

Displaying results 81-90 (of 116) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States