Speedy Homemade Salsa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2012
Not so crazy about the amount of vinegar or the cumin. I also like it better with some vinegar and lime juice. Great recipe to tweak and make your own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweetemmy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2012
This salsa recipe has become a staple in our house. I tend to use more cilantro than the recipe calls for and depending on what I have on hand I will add different peppers and onions. A great basic recipe that my husband always comments tastes so fresh. I end up making about once a week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2012
LOOOOOOOOVE this recipe!!!! Everyone who tries it falls in love. I only use this salsa when I am making mexican food. You can use diced tomatoes (drained) too if you don't have whole. The only change I make is using lime instead of vinegar and if you don't have a red onion on hand, it is still amazing using just yellow or white.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marquita

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2012
I made this last night with 4 fresh, peeled tomatoes and let it sit till tonight. Best salsa I've ever tasted! Just the right amount of heat. I added lime juice (just a splash) and it was perfect. I'll definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2012
I made one batch of this today for two 2 year olds and two 9 year olds. They all LOVED it (including me!) The older two said they would like it a little spicier. I loved it just the way it was. I did, however, add lime juice (and reduced the vinegar.) I used fresh tomatoes (didn't peel them.) I used cilantro from my garden, but it was actually the stalks and skinny leaves from the flowers, still tastes like cilantro, so why not? I don't have the leafy kind anymore, my plants have bolted and gone to seed. The cumin was a LITTLE overwhelming, but still delicious. I think after melding for awhile, this is going to be my favorite salsa! (I made it too runny, so next time I'll keep it chunkier and I definitely won't be going back to buying jars of salsa!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Fuller

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Damascus, Maryland, USA
Living In: Frederick, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2012
Made this Salsa to go with the appetizer Tortilla scoop chips at our cookout. Everyone loved it and said I have to always make it now. I used double everything to make double the salsa. Had a little bit left over so the next morning I made Salsa Omlets. They were good too! I used Fresh Tomatos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2012
Great salsa! I took the advice of others and added 1 TBSP of lime juice, cut the Cumin in half, cut the vinegar in half and kept in one half of the seeds from the jalapeno to add a little more heat. Too much Cumin would have been way too spicy. I'd rather have my heat come from the jalapeno seeds. :-) Thanks for this great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny E.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2012
I love this recipe - I make it all the time. Instead of Cumin I use a tex-mex seasoning by Clubhouse and also use rice vinegar and add some chipotle hot sauce and some scotch bonnet hot sauce because I like spice. I've been asked for the recipe several times!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by danamiddleton

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2012
REALLY GOOD!!! I followed the recipe EXACTLY for the first batch. My next batch will double the cilantro and the garlic and will add 1 TBSP of fresh lime juice. I used tomatoes from my garden. After washing them I froze them in a ziplock bag. When I was ready to make the salsa I ran each under hot water and the skin came right off!!! Neat tip!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kaz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Hot Springs Village, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2012
This salsa was so refreshing! I used fresh tomatoes and used all red onions and added more garlic for my taste. It was divine and all my family raved about it. I also added chopped avocados and a tablespoon of lime juice after I emptied all of it from the food processor. I am going to make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 116) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States