Speedy Homemade Salsa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Violet
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2008
My homemade salsa is good, but this salsa is great (and a little faster to make)! I used canned "fire roasted" tomatoes, which added a smoky flavor to the salsa. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
90 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Violet

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2012
I doubled this recipe. I did not have whole tomatoes, I used two cans organic diced tomatoes. I did use canned jalapeno only because I don't keep fresh on hand. After running the ingredients through the blender, I folded in an additional 1/4 cup or so more minced cilantro. VERY easy. This recipe doubled filled one quart Ball jar to the top. I normally add brown sugar to homemade salsa but the cider vinegar gave it a little sweet-tang that I really liked. Next time, I would increase the garlic, just for my own personal taste liking. NOTE: The longer this salsa sits, the better it gets.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
82 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2010
Wow! Now, this is some really good salsa! I've been searching for a really good salsa recipe and I think I've finally found it. I used a 14.5 oz. can of fire roasted tomatoes, 2 tsp. of cider vinegar, 2 tsp. of fresh lime juice, 2 tsp. of minced garlic from the jar, 1/2 tsp. of salt, and 1/2 tsp. of sugar. I put this into my mini food processor and let it go.... I put it in the fridge for a couple of hours to let the flavors blend and this is now my "go to" salsa recipe. My brother and his girlfriend devoured the stuff and said it was better than Chili's!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
75 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2008
5+ Stars! My 16 year old had to put together some homemade salsa at the last minute and we had all the ingredients (except used petite diced tomatoes, 3 jalapenos and red wine vinegar instead of the cider). I thought it'd be decent but it actually blew us away! Let it chill overnight, WOW! Will never buy store salsa again. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lsimon99

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2009
I added a tablespoon of lime juice to give it some zing as well as fresh tomatos and a jalapeno from our garden Great recipie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2009
Super good! I used diced, fire roasted tomatoes with green chiles from Trader Joe's. I was curious about the vinegar so I divided the salsa and tried lime on one half and apple cider on the other. Definitely preferred the lime.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ginger

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2009
Wow, I thought I loved my local Mexican restaurant's salsa but this definitely rivals theirs. I never thought to use canned tomatoes for a fresh tasting salsa but this works so well it will be my go to for fresh salsa. I did add an extra 1/2 tsp salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy in Pensacola

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stockton, California, USA
Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2008
The very best salsa I have ever ate..Very easy to make,made no changes other than taken the serving size to 12..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2010
This is a great tasting salsa. The proportions are right on; however, cider vinegar is inauthentic and, unfortunately, gives the salsa a bit of a strange taste, especially after sitting overnight in the fridge. When I first made it, I could really taste the cumin while hardly tasting the vinegar. But, like I said, after sitting overnight, the cumin blended nicely while the vinegar taste stood out too much. That said, I will definitely make this salsa again but next time I will use lime juice instead of vinegar. Thanks for posting. It really showed me how important proportions are when making salsa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2008
I love this stuff. Even though you are using canned tomatoes, it has such a fresh taste unlike the stuff you get in jars at the grocery store. I prefer a chunky salsa so i hand chop everything. Be careful...this is addictive.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 116) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States