Speedy Homemade Salsa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2010
This is the perfect salsa because it can be tweaked so well. We like cilantro, so I use the whole bunch of cilantro leaves, 2 jalapenos - I remove the seeds and membrane, which is where the heat comes from , from 1 of the peppers, which leaves it plenty hot. I too used lime juice instead of vinegar. I also didn't drain the tomatoes. This time I was out of cumin, so had to leave it out. Still turned out great. One other thing - if you are putting this into your food processor, you do not need to chop or mince anything. I processed everthing but the tomatoes, added them last, pulsed it until they were just blended in but still chunky.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debi Blair McGinness

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Akron, Ohio, USA
Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2010
I didn't use a food processor. EXCELLENT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2010
This was great! We live Dallas and have many meals that involve salsa so we usually have some in reserve - panicked tonight when I couldn't find any and this was so good I think I'm going to start making this recipe instead of buying store-bought!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WOLFECOOKIE

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2010
My family loved this recipe. I added some lime juice and used red wine vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2010
Finally, we have a winner! Next time try 1/2 teaspoon of salt instead of 1/4, and split the cider with fresh lime juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Scotdog
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2010
Excellent & easy. I adjusted the spices to my families tastes. We love cilantro & I have a bunch of it so I put way more in. Didn't have the white onion so I used more red. Used lime, but still added a bit of the apple cider vinegar. Really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scotdog

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2010
mmm, mmm, good... I doubled the recipe and... used 2 lbs of plum tomatoes (no salt) instead of canned, (hand chopped, no food processor, changing that tomorrow) all red onion, no white/yellow used the ribs from on jalapeno (no seeds) for a bit more bite balsamic vinegar instead of cider splash of raspberry balsamic vinegar 1-2 tablespoon lemon or lime juice on mango, next time two, mmm, mmm, good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lucky Noodles
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2010
I was a little skeptical about the color being a little "brown" but the taste is awesome with perfect heat for us! Thanks Sarah!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lucky Noodles

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hanover, Indiana, USA
Living In: Noblesville, Indiana, USA
Photo by zanesmom06
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2010
This is super good & very easy to make! I don't like my salsa chunky, so I ran my through the processor a little longer & I added a little extra garlic. I used fire roasted diced tomatoes w/ garlic, fresh squeezed lime instead of vinegar & I also used canned jalapeno peppers. Can't wait for my hubby to get home to share it with him...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by zanesmom06

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Geneva, Ohio, USA
Living In: Jefferson, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2010
The salsa is very good! It is definitely a base that can be altered to satisfy anyone's taste. I think next time I may add a bit of lime juice, a little hot sauce, drained black beans, sweet corn kernels, and maybe a tiny bit of sugar or crushed pineapple to break up some of the heat and acidity. I love how quick it is to put together and how versatile it is! Thank you for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vagriffs5

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

Displaying results 81-90 (of 116) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States