Spanish Rice II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2014
Made this for my carb loving husband with a Mexican themed dinner. I subbed chicken broth for the water, and only had a can each of chiles and diced tomatoes rather than Rotel. Great flavor, but keep an eye on the clock. Mine went over time by a minute or two and was a little soft. My own fault, and I'll still make it again and not get distracted. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2014
This was simple enough to throw together for a weeknight side dish! I did add a dash of cumin and a clove of garlic! very very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missrochester

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2014
Use this recipe all the time. Like others, I added 1/2 tsp. cumin and used chicken broth instead of water. Great side with enchiladas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Thunder Bay, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2014
Turned out great. However I did make a couple of small changes. I left out the bell peppers, Instead of using canned diced tomato and green chiles, I used a can of chiles and diced two tomatoes myself (cuts down on the salt a bit). Lastly, I added 1/2 tsp of ground cumin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patrician
Home Town: Joshua, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2014
I've made this recipe several times now in the past 6 months. After the first time I used chicken broth instead of water and it's the easiest, fastest and best tasting I've ever had. It's better than any I've ever had in an expensive restaurant. I also use about a 3/4cup extra of the broth cause we don't like it as dry. You really can't mess this one up. it's awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2014
Good side dish but makes more than 4 servings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
The best! Tastes just like my aunt used to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
I make it with regular brown rice (with normal cooking time of 45 mins) and it's fantastic as well. Just let it cook that extra 15 mins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karin V

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Daytona Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Decatur, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2013
This was fantastic!!! For those of you who think it is soggy/mushy....DO NOT stir it. Just put the lid on and let it go. I used long grain rice and cooked for only 15 minutes and it was perfect!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
Taking this to a potluck later today, so I doubled the recipe. Used chicken stock instead of water, as I always do, & only 1 can of Ro-tel, it is plenty spicy! I do hope I have some left to bring home-just don't know how many folks will be there. I did add some cumin & used dried, chopped onions instead of fresh. Did not sauté before cooking in the microwave. I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by goodeats

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Kingman, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,210) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Spanish Rice

See a quick-and-easy recipe for the yummiest Spanish rice.

Spanish Rice II

This Spanish rice has lots of rich flavor, and is very easy to prepare.

Herbed Rice and Spicy Black Bean Salad

Watch how to make this easy, healthy dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States