Spanakopita (Greek Spinach Pie) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2001
I didn't particularly enjoy this, although it was my own fault. I have never worked with fresh spinach before and did not remove the stems before putting it into the food processor. The stems made it bitter and stringy. REMOVE THE STEMS AND ONLY USE THE LEAVES and I'm sure you'll enjoy this much more than I did. It looked great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
75 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2001
It was very good! My husband is half greek and he really enjoyed it. It came out very well considering I had never cooked spinach before!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2001
This Pie was fantastic! My dinner party loved it. I am glad though that I could learn from MCIPOLLA's mistake about the stems. I would have never thought of that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2001
The recipe is easy, and I would have given 5 stars on the quickness, however the only time- consuming part is preparing the fresh spinach. It is very necessary to the tase to remove the stems so it does not turn out bitter. Other than that, it is a quick recipe. I made it for my husband's friends, and they LOVED it. One liked it so much, he offered to pay me to make a batch for him to take to his football party the following weekend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2001
I love this recipe. The only complaint that I have is that I did not clean the spinach enough. I rinsed it 2 or 3 times and it was still gritty. My husband liked it but said that it should have been served as a side dish and not as the main. Thanks for the recipe, I will use it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spring, Texas, USA
Living In: Cypress, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2002
I was so happy that this recipe used the Feta and the Ricotta cheese! Next time, I'm going to make it double and use a bigger pan!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2002
I just got done eating this for dinner, and it was wonderful! All the other review information on the proper way to cook spinach was too intimidating, so I just used frozen spinach and it was still awesome. We have decided to put in two extra layers of dough next time (in the middle) because we really like it with more dough, but this recipe was overall great. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Hagerstown, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2002
I loved this dish. I also tried a variant whereas I saute pine nuts in olive oil until they are golden brown. Then add chopped pieces of firm tofu, saute a bit, then add the onions, garlic, etc. Also leave the ricotta out. This is done to get protein without the fat, and nobody knows the difference. The nuts are nice complement to the spinach.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2002
great recipe....very tasty filling next time though, i wouldn't make as much filling it was too much stuffing, not enough dough use more phyllo, like 7 sheets also, it was very soggy i think i should've drained the filling before putting it in the pan to bake
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2002
I am not really a spinach fan, but I loved this. I mean I absolutely loved this! My family of six loved more than I did. It was a little time comnsuming, but definetly worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 433) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Spanakopita (Greek Spinach Pie)

Watch how to make this top-rated Greek spinach pie.

Chef John's Spinach and Feta Pie

An easy baked omelet that's loaded with spinach and feta cheese.

Spinach Lasagna III

This hearty meatless lasagna is layered with cheese, fresh spinach, and sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States