Spanakopita (Greek Spinach Pie) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2013
Good. I make individual parcels for presentation and add Parmesan
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2013
Absolutely fantastic! This tasted better than any spanakopita I had in a restaturant. I didn't have as much spinach as was required, so I just used one package of fresh spinach and it was enough. I also didn't have parsley. No need it was great without it. Thank you for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisasamm

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2013
This recipe was great. I didn't have all of the ingredients on hand, so I made some substitutions, but it was so good. I made a second one 3 days later. I substituted mozarella for the feta (Didn't have any at home), and pie crust (didn't have phyllo at home). It turend out fabulous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2013
I made this recipe the other day; it is wonderful and very easy. It does need to be seasoned up a little bit, so I added salt, pepper and a quarter teaspoon of mace but there is a huge variety of herbs you could add to this to edge it away from blandness. For a family of four, I found I could halve the amount of spinach with no detriment to the end result: the amount recommended in the recipe is great but my pan won't cope with it. I used "1 Cal Spray Olive Oil" to oil between the leaves of phyllo dough. Thanks so much for this, Silverwolf - it's a super recipe :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Guildford, Surrey, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
I've tried several spanikopita recipes, and this one was so far the best. What I really liked about this recipe is the instruction to ONLY cook the spinach for 2 minutes or until wilted. That is a key step (don't overcook the spinach mix because it changes the flavor and releases too much water). The other important thing I would add is to drain the spinach mixture (after cooked) in a fine mesh strainer to drain the excess liquid. Make sure it is completely cooled before adding the cheese. I would also HIGHLY recommend adding 1/4 cup of chopped fresh dill, which really adds flavor to the recipe. The only other modification I made was that I used a parmesan/asiago cheese mix instead of the ricotta - this substitution added more flavor. Overall, this was a great recipe and definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2012
This is an awesome and was eaten right away at Thanksgiving. It will soft and messy if you don't prepare the spinich right though. I diced the spinich finely and then put it into a pot of boiling water for about five minutes to soften it. I drained it, ran it under cold water, and then hand squeezed the spinich until all of the water came out. You can put it in the bowl after this and use it. You won't have any problems with it being too stringy or running with water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2012
This is my favourite spanakopita recipe, it's delicious. The only change I make is adding a bit of dried dill to the filling and maybe some extra feta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2012
Excellent. I sauteed sliced shitake mushrooms with the onion/garlic/green onion mixture and added a tsp of lemon, salt and pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2012
This is really good. I've made it a few times. Sometimes I replace half the spinach with kale, or switch out the type of dough, it always turns out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shara Mercado Poole

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2012
This is such a great recipe. I turned it into a main dish. I'm definitely not Greek so sorry if my changes weren't according to Greek custom. I browned a super lean pound of hamburger meat with one chopped yellow onion, about 1/2 tsp salt and two chopped cloves of garlic. As I did this, I steamed some white rice in my rice cooker. Once the meat and onion were browned, I added about 1.5 cups of the steamed rice to the meat and mixed them together. I then set this aside. I then went on to follow the recipe to a T until I got to the Phyllo part. I turned it into a 9 X 13 casserole so the sheets are the exact size and it can hold the extra meat/rice mixture. After layering four phyllo sheets on the bottom, I topped with meat/rice mixture and then spread the sheeese/spinach mixture evenly over the top of the meat/rice layer. I then topped with the four phyllo sheets as called for which were again the exact size and it turned out to be a perfect size family casserole. This might sound funny, but I purposely cut a few of my phyllo top sheets to get more crusty edges since they fit almost too perfectly. I like a flakey top. I baked the whole thing at 350 for 40 minutes and it was delicious. No sides required. I didn't even serve it with bread since it had rice in it and then the phyllow dough. I cut it like a lasagna and it was beautiful. I got 12 decent size pieced. This one is a keeper. Thanks for the post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pleasanton, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 431) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Spanakopita (Greek Spinach Pie)

Watch how to make this top-rated Greek spinach pie.

Chef John's Spinach and Feta Pie

An easy baked omelet that's loaded with spinach and feta cheese.

Spinach Lasagna III

This hearty meatless lasagna is layered with cheese, fresh spinach, and sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States