Spanakopita (Greek Spinach Pie) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2012
This was fabulous! I modified it for personal taste, but the recipe as written would be great on its own. I used fresh baby spinach. I omitted the fresh parsley, and realized after I started making this that I didn't have fresh garlic, so for the spinach and onions, I sauteed them in the oil, then added 1 tsp garlic powder, 1 tbsp fresh dill, and 1/2 tsp nutmeg to the mixture. I like mine a little creamier, so I used the eggs, 1 cup of ricotta, 2 cups of feta, and 8 oz full fat cream cheese for the filing. I also used 16 sheets phyllo dough (8 on the bottom, 8 on the top) and brushed the dough with melted butter instead of oil. It's more fattening this way, but so good. I live near Greektown, and this is better than what I get in the restaurants. My non-vegetarian fiance loved it, as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2012
Made this for my daughter's birthday. She loves the spinich pie from the local Greek restaurant so it was a good exucse to try this recipe. I used fat free feta (an attempt to cut out a few calories) and it was wonderful, just like at the restaurant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marlborough, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Ellington, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2012
I loved this, my son asked for a little bit more cheese. I don't see any issues at all. Simple, quick and delic!!! YUMMMMMMY
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2012
very bland, with additional spices (thyme, basil) with salt and pepper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
Delicious and easy to make. I used a tip from a chef, instead of brushing each fillo sheet I just sprayed it with canola oil cooking spray which cut down on the saturated fat. I also recommend increasing the fillo to 10 sheets and cutting it prior to cooking it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jackie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2012
Good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2012
A wonderful, buttery tasting, rich recipe! The choice of feta seems to matter, as I've made it with 2 different kinds. The first was from feta purchased at our farmer's market and the second was from a commercially purchased cheese. The first one was the best, by far, being much richer and creamy. I used prewashed baby spinach and was very happy I did as it cut down some of the prep time. Like I said, I've made it twice and DH is requesting it as a weekly regular! Thanks for the great recipe, Silverwolf
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baldwinsville, New York, USA
Living In: Deep River, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
Turned out to be a huge treat. I learned some valuable lessons with this recipe. If you're using a recipe be sure to read it and follow it, more or less. If you're doubling the recipe that means twice as much of each ingredient. Not twice for some and four times for others. There is such a thing as TOO much phyllo. (I was never going to use the leftover in the time recommended on the box so I added the extra to the top.) It's like I have a phyllo loaf with a nice spinach spread; still tasty, but too much phyllo. All things considered, I thought the recipe easy to prepare with a nice finished product. I’ll make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2011
I followed the directions precisely and it came out soupy. Definitely very important to squeeze the excess moisture out of the spinach!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nrem3

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2011
pat??daaaaa!!!! all time classic!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by frikase

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 447) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spanakopita (Greek Spinach Pie)

Watch how to make this top-rated Greek spinach pie.

Chef John's Spinach and Feta Pie

An easy baked omelet that's loaded with spinach and feta cheese.

Spinach Lasagna III

This hearty meatless lasagna is layered with cheese, fresh spinach, and sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States