Spanakopita (Greek Spinach Pie) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2015
I have made this recipe about 10 times now. I add about 1tbs of lemon juice and zest. My husband says my pies are better than Greek restaurant. Yay! I also make weight watchers broccoli and egg strudel with fillo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2015
I make this spanakopita for years and I eat it in Greece. In the original recipe there is some dill in the filling, also use the frozen spinach after thawing and squeeze all the water out. I found that mixing the olive oil with a little butter to use to brush the top layer gives a very nice flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norfolk, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2015
This recipe cries out for dill! When I make spanakopita (often) I add it to the mixture before putting it into the phyllo until it tastes "dilly" enough for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bryna Anton

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2015
we followed great reviewer suggestions and substituted dill for about 1/3 of the parsley; cooled spinach mixture before adding it to ricotta/egg/cheese mixture; pressed water out of spinach mixture!! used more fillo dough than suggested in recipe (we used about 12-14 sheets); we added salt to the spinach mixture; turned out delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2015
I did modify this recipe as the spinach to cheese ratio was way off. I added at least 1 1/2 cup of cottage cheese and at least 2 cups of feta. Also 4 oz of cream cheese. I also omitted the whole onion and used a whole roll of fillo. I felt it lacked spice, so added garlic salt, salt and alot of ground pepper. It was really good. It took approx 30 minutes to brown at 350.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2015
Awesome taste, I must remember to take the filo from the frig earlier though:-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Phyllis Pearson

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2015
I love this recipe...I asually use more sheets of the dough..just a personal preference...I've also made this using kale along with spinach...when I have a huge harvest of both from the garden..it's great way to add in some kale which my family isn't too fond of...they can't tell it's in there!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wendy Likly-Welch

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2015
Ok...so I am surprised this got such positive feedback. I followed the recipe exactly what was called for. I wanted to impress my father, as he is from Crete. Unfortunately his recipe comes out much better. We both agreed that this needed more feta, 1-2 more boxes of frozen spinach, cottage cheese instead of ricotta, dill, and nutmeg. Then throw in a few sheets of phyllo in the middle and brush with oil and butter. It might just be a matter of what you get used to, but his pita is soooo yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2015
Came out great overall. I also live in Southeastern Michigan, and just got some bad spinach pie (overcooked, dried out, probably re-heated) and was determined to make my own. Next time I'd use olive oil spray on the phyllo dough as others have suggested, and bulk up the feta as well, and would season the filling with lemon pepper for some extra punch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Larry

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2015
This came out amazing! Lots of flavor, thank you so much, also that you for the other comments on the advice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 445) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spanakopita (Greek Spinach Pie)

Watch how to make this top-rated Greek spinach pie.

Chef John's Spinach and Feta Pie

An easy baked omelet that's loaded with spinach and feta cheese.

Spinach Lasagna III

This hearty meatless lasagna is layered with cheese, fresh spinach, and sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States