Spanakopita (Greek Spinach Pie) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2011
Heavenly! Very tasty! I found the phyllo dough wasa pain, but it was yummy :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sam :)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rosebud, Texas, USA
Living In: Kyle, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2011
Oh my god this was good. I doubled the garlic and added an extra half cup of feta cheese. This was fantastic. Can't wait to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2011
This recipe was well received from my family (my kids couldn't get enough). I followed it as written with the exception that I used frozen spinach instead. After I thawed it out, I tried squeezing the spinach between two plates as suggested by Selea, but it didn't seem to do a good job (it probably works best with fresh spinach only). Here's what I did instead: I squeezed the excess water out by hand and sauteed the spinach in a bit of olive oil until the moisture was evaporated (about 5 minutes). Then I transfered it to a bowl to cool, sauteed the rest of the ingredients, added it to the spinach, and seasoned with salt and pepper. I proceeded with the rest of the recipe. A few other tips to avoid sogginess are 1) If there is excess liquid in the ricotta, then drain it off. 2) When brushing the phyllo dough, do NOT drench it in oil (or melted butter)! Brush only enough to give it flavour. I read this in a review of a popular Baklava recipe also found on this site. And one last tip: Let pie cool 10-15 minutes, to get more flavour out of the dish (Greeks traditionally let their meals cool to room temp to enjoy the full taste of a dish). This is a wonderful and elegant dish to wow your guests. Will definitely make again. Thanks for sharing your recipe, Silverwolf!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hamburg, Hamburg, Germany
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2011
Very nice, thank you! Was perfect the next day as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2011
Thank you from the bottom of this detroit natives heart. Now living in New Orleans I can't find this one of my favorite dishes. I used frozen spinach and drained it between the 2 plates with paper towel liners to soak up the water!!! It was wonderful!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bshimoura

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Madison Heights, Michigan, USA
Living In: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2011
Yummy! Tripled the garlic, doubled the phyllo, and added some nutmeg, dill, and lemon juice. Will be making again very soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2011
This is one of my FAVORITE recipies! My sister has requested this recipie for her birthday dinner the last 2, 3 years in a row. I decided to give it a whirl for her one year and it's just been insanely addictive! My husband (who isn't a huge fan of spinach) has even requested me to make this for him as well. :) It's VERY simple to follow and the ingredients are simple as well. I have found that the pie form is much easier than the individual triangles so this recipie is just all around easy. I found it also takes a bit longer to prepare...but that's just depending on how pretty you want to make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by annabeack

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stone Mountain, Georgia, USA
Living In: Lawrenceville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2011
I've been wanting to make spanakopita for a long time but unfortunately it didn't seem to catch any one's interest. And then.....there was that dreaded S ingredient. I have at last graduated from the school of "Putting Everyone Else First" and my choices now hold some menu merit. Great flavours in the spinach cheese filling mix and the phyllo doughs texture and appearance. Thank you for sharing a great recipe SILVERWOLF.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cynjne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
What a PITA to chop ALL of that fresh spinach, but it sure pays to use fresh - what a taste difference, texture, too. I know others substituted frozen, but I would not. Take the time to use the fresh spinach. This is a keeper. This takes longer than 30 min for prep.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2011
Sooooo delicious! I used to go to a Greek Festival every summer that had the best Spanakopita, and this definitely matches it! I used one box of frozen spinach instead of the fresh because it was cheaper and easier, I thawed it of course and squeezed it in cheesecloth to get all the water out, and then continued with the recipe. I also made sure to let my ingredients cool before assembling the dish, as another reviewer suggested. I used double the phyllo dough on both top and bottom, because I like a really crunchy crust. This recipe makes a very thick (deep) dish, like 3-inch thick slices, so if you do not like it so thick maybe put it in a 9X13 pan instead, but I thought it was perfect. Even my husband (who is a die-hard meat and potatoes guy) loved this and said it was very satisfying. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 420) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spanakopita (Greek Spinach Pie)

Watch how to make this top-rated Greek spinach pie.

Chef John's Spinach and Feta Pie

An easy baked omelet that's loaded with spinach and feta cheese.

Spinach Lasagna III

This hearty meatless lasagna is layered with cheese, fresh spinach, and sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States