Spaghetti Squash Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2005
I only gave this 4 stars because I doctored the recipe, but it came out great! To speed up the cooking process, cook squash in microwave, cut-side down in 1/2 in. of water for about 10 minutes. I sauteed fresh mushrooms and fresh spinach with the onion, and added some minced garlic, seasoned salt and pepper. I mixed mozzarella cheese in with the squash (about 3/4 c) and added a few dashes of hot sauce. Instead of bread cubes, I used homemade whole wheat garlic croutons. It was delicious with unique flavoring!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
220 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2004
This is so good. I sauted an 8 oz package of fresh mushrooms that I quartered. I also added a 9 oz package of frozen spinich (defrosted and drained), and skipped the basil. I seasoned with kosher salt, pepper and a dash of nutmeg(goes great with spinach). Last but not least I made garlic croutons to go with the fresh parmesan for the topping and it came out perfect. What a great way to prepare spaghetti squash as with the previos reviewer I also had one sitting on my counter waiting to be used.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
137 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kimberly
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2007
I COOKED IT JUST AS DESCRIBED EXCEPT I USED PEPPERIDGE FARM STUFFING INSTEAD OF BREAD CUBES AND IT TURNED OUT WONDERFUL. WE MADE IT AS PART OF EASTER DINNER AND IT WILL BE ON THE MENU FOR EVERY HOLIDAY NOW ON..THE GOOD THING IS , YOU CAN CHANGE THIS RECEPI AROUND AS YOU LIKE AND IT'S STILL GOING TO BE GOOD!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
102 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2010
How are people giving 4 or 5 stars to a recipe that they almost completely changed? You're rating your own, new recipe. If you want to submit a new recipe for spaghetti squash, that's great. Based on these reviews, I know how tasty 55 different squash recipes are, not Spaghetti Squash Casserole submitted by NMC0013.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2008
Mmm! My family all loved this one. Made my own changes. Sautéed garlic, fresh mushrooms, and onions. Added the cooked squash and a can of beef broth. Simmered till reduced and then thicken slightly with cornstarch/water. Added 1/2c sour cream. Poured in casserole dish. Topped with bread and parmesan. Baked as directed. This was a great recipe that will be a family regular in our home. Next time I will add spinach.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LinC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2005
This is a great squash recipe- I did however change it up a bit- I added a little bit if salt and pepper, some extra parmesean cheese and I didnt use the bread cubes. I used cracker crumbs instead. I made a full recipe thinking my husband and i would have leftovers but we ended up eating it all. Very rich and yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2007
Good new use for spaghetti squash. we didn't have the croûtons, I used french fried onions and couldn't imagine this dish without them. For the leftovers I served it atop mashed potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Selaine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Troy, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2007
great idea for spaghetti squash. i added a variety of vegetables and substituted plain yogurt for sour cream. all in all, a very successful meal. thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clinton, Michigan, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2007
Yum. An excellent way to prepare usually bland spaghetti squash. I did as another reviewer suggested and substituted spinach for the basil, added nutmeg, and used fresh mushrooms instead of canned. It was even better on the second day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2004
Pretty good recipe, though I'm more partial to a cheesier casserole, with tomato sauce. The bread cubes toasted on top add a nice touch; try substituting flavored croutons for more bang.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 105) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Casserole

A creamy squash casserole with a custard-like texture and crunchy topping.

Yellow Squash Casserole

See how to make a hearty squash casserole for a side or main.

Spaghetti Squash with Paleo Meat Sauce

Strands of spaghetti squash are topped with a paleo-friendly meat sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States