Soy Sauce Substitute Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2010
I didn't feel like going back out to the store. This was a perfect replacement. I used normal syrup instead of molasses.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChefAMY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2010
JUST A WARNING: I would love to try this recipe. Unfortunately, every beef bouillon I saw at my local supermarket had soy protein as one of the top three ingredients. Goes to show that you can never stop reading & re-reading those labels. :-|
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2009
Thank you, thank you, thank you for this recipe!!! My son is allergic to soy so we have given up so many Thai, Teriyaki and Chinese meals - but no more!!! I used this to make a Thai noodle dish and it was superb!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2009
As I am allergic to wheat, and my daughter is allergic to both soy AND ginger, we simply used paprika instead of ginger in this, and then chix bullion instead of beef (our beef cubes had SOY in them!), and it really turned out beautifully! Thank you so much--I made up extra & jarred it in the fridge for future use.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisandreasings

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Avon, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2009
I needed soy sauce for a marinade for a pork roast & I couldn't find any in my fridge. I figured I would try this. Then I realized I had no molasses. So I substituted Eden's Organic Barley Malt. It was perfect. Tasted so much like soy sauce I bottled the rest of it for future use. Thanks, Rongway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shery

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2009
**** For people with SOY ALLERGIES; Most bullion has MSG and balsamic vinegar has naturally occuring msg same as soy!... I get migraines and have done research. You may still be sensitive to this recipe. ****
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
211 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Traci-in-Cali

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2009
Loved this, it tastes just like Soy Sauce but since I am allergic it makes cooking hard. We will be able to have so many great dishes that I haven't been able to cook in a while.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by shes a moser girl
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2009
I made this last night and loved it but I don't know if I used the beef bouillon correctly. I dissolved a cube in hot water and used that for water called for in the recipe. Is it supposed to be 4 tbs of granulated bouillon?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2009
I was in the middle of a recipe when I noticed I didn't have enough soy sauce and this recipe saved the day. I did substitute the beef bullion for veggie stock just because I'm vegetarian, but it turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PRcook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2009
My husband and I love eating chinese food, but when we discovered our infant son was soy protein intolerant we thought that he would never be able to share our love. Now we can not only share our love, but we can do it in a healthier way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 77) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's Remoulade Sauce

A simple homemade sauce for crab cakes and grilled or broiled fish.

Homemade Horseradish Sauce

See how easy and delicious it is to make horseradish sauce from scratch.

Chef John’s Butterless Béarnaise Sauce

See how to make a healthy, shortcut béarnaise sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States