Soy Sauce Substitute Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2015
OK, but a beef-based soy sauce substitute just doesn't cut it for a lot of people, especially if needed for vegan/vegetarian dishes. For those who are worried about soy or MSG consider that most bouillon contains hydrolyzed vegetable protein, which is very often soy-based (unless the package specifies soy-free) & that ingredient is loaded with naturally occurring glutamates (which is not a problem for me, because that is where that deep Umami flavor comes from after all). I suggest substituting good quality vegetarian bouillon made with sea salt or if you can find it use some marmite or another kind of yeast extract (or try using both). Ciao.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2015
Will try again, but if I can use the real stuff I will. Maybe more salt next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jason Ladwig

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Big Stone City, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Duvall, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2014
My rating is reflective of my opinion of the sauce and in no way indicates my level of appreciation for the author, which is quite high. What a great idea to make soy sauce at home! I saw all of the high marks and really, really wanted this to be great, however it simply did not work for me. In my mind, it wasn't even remotely reminiscent of soy sauce nor was it acceptable as an alternative. :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Table for Two

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2014
This saved our dinner when I realized I was out of soy sauce. I just eye-balled the ingredients, and I didn't even boil it. I just put it straight into my stir-fry after mixing in a bowl. Thanks for sharing the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2014
Fantastic. I had to use Italian Dressing instead of Balsamic and it still turned out great! I will never buy soy sauce again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Barba

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2014
Excellent recipe! I was making pepper steak and was out of soy sauce. Followed recipe for this and it actually taste better than store bought!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rene Humphries

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2014
Very easy substitute that really works. I do only use this when I don't have real soy sauce, but if I discover I'm out of soy sauce, I don't panic. This does fine in a pinch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2014
I will never buy soy sauce again!! This is absolutely amazing. Like soy sauce but a ton more flavour. I use it as a marinade too. Super yummy on pork chops then bbq them. What a find this recipe is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2014
I needed some soy sauce for a recipe and did not want to go get it! I amazingly had all of the ingredients. It is good. Definitely like it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracy Dinwiddie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2014
This recipe is fantastic! I haven't been able to make dishes with soy sauce for years due to allergies. It works great in my recipes.thank you :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 79) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Remoulade Sauce

A simple homemade sauce for crab cakes and grilled or broiled fish.

Homemade Horseradish Sauce

See how easy and delicious it is to make horseradish sauce from scratch.

Chef John’s Butterless Béarnaise Sauce

See how to make a healthy, shortcut béarnaise sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States