Sourdough Starter Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2000
I've tried several different sourdough starter recipes over the years with dismal results. I made my first batch of sourdough bread yesterday with this recipe. Thanks Esther.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2007
I have always wanted to make sourdough bread but was always intimdated by the starter. Well I finally took the plunge with this recipe and it turned out great. I did as another reviewer suggested but I only fed it once aday 1/3 cup water and 1/3 cup flour. On the fifth day I made the San Francisco Sourdough and it turned out great. Now my biggest concern is keeping my starter fed. Thanks for sharing this easy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Torrington, Wyoming, USA
Living In: Ridgecrest, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2001
I've used a sourdough starter in the past using yogurt and lowfat milk, but this was so easy and I had everything on-hand, so I tried it and my starter was actually ready within 24-hours.I am very pleased with this recipe. Thank you Esther for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2003
This is the easiest most fool proof starter I have ever seen! I always wanted to make a started but all the recipes were so difficult. The taste is fantastic! This one is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by staceywatts

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2005
Easy to use. Worked much faster for me. I was ready to use it in a day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oak Hill, New Brunswick, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2002
The most straightforward sourdough starter recipe I have come across
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2007
This is such a simple recipe. My first time ever to make a starter or sourdough bread and it worked like a charm. My starter appeared to be ready after only 24 hours, but I fed it 1/3 cup flour and 1/3 cup water and left it out one more day just to be safe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2003
Very good and easy even for me. I've never made a sourdough starter. I kept feeding it (eery day) for 4 days before I made my first loaves (rounds) of San Francisco Sourdough bread. My family ate one up in about 10 minutes! I had enough starter to give away to two more people and mine went in the fridge to 'sleep'. I love it. It's like a pet you need to feed and take care of.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
128 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2003
Of all of the sourdough bread starters that I have tried this was by far the best. Thanks Esther
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2006
An excellent and very informative recipe that eliminates a lot of guess work!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Frakes, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 153) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Sourdough Starter

See how to make sourdough starter for your homemade baked goods.

Is Your Sourdough Starter Alive & Well

Discover the signs that reveal your starter is properly nourished.

How to Feed a Sourdough Starter

See how to nourish your San Francisco sourdough bread starter.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States